Swedish midsummer in Los Angeles!

in #food6 years ago

3df3f024-02a0-43b7-8884-10fe8ed494ef.jpeg


Last night @markvicente and I experienced our first Swedish Midsummer Celebration (hosted by a swedish friend in LA).

What an incredible night! With flower crown making, games where you could win a strawberry or shot of infused vodka (with herbs from a summer field), singing, dancing, Swedish music, great company and AMAZING Swedish food!

I’ll put together a longer blog post with more pics etc, but couldn’t resist sharing this one from my iphone!

xo Bonnie

Instagram:
website:
Facebook:


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I worked at IKEA for a few years (slinging hotdogs in the bistro), and midsummer was always a big deal.
I particularly enjoyed kubb.

I lived in Adelaide when Ikea opened. It was crazy times. Everyone went mental.

I actually got a bit of a cult vibe off the place.
The Ingvar worship was a little on the nose.
I have a lot more time for Swedish culture than I do for IKEA culture.
The food was interesting. I tried and enjoyed a lot; but the fermented herring was confronting. Didn't get past smelling it.

Wow Matt that looks pretty fun! I think this could be a fun beach game too, will have to try it sometime!

Nice Post Good Jobs...

Yes, please make a proper post about this Bonnie. I'm really into Nordic Noir tv shows, and I've seen it on them. But I'd be interested to see how it's done in LA and what you think about it.

Yes I will! Mark and I started watching 'Rebeka Mortensen' this week leading up to the event... it's a really great Swedish TV show, have you seen it? I didn't know much at all about Nordic culture but after last night's experience I'm obsessed! Blog post coming soon 😀

Ooh, no. I will look that up. I need a new show to get into.

wow i love this! the colors and the sun! Do you mind if i trace over this and paint it? i can tag you in the final work if you would like?

Go for it @rustaboy! I'd love to see what you come up with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59