The "Deadliest Catch" Pizza costs $60 and has almost 2lbs of Alaskan King Crab !

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Wherever we traveled in Alaska, we kept hearing about a restaurant that did a pizza like no other. First our van driver told us, then the conductor on the Alaskan Railway...We would have to find it, and so it was we made our way to the small town of Glitter Gulch to the "Prospectors Pizzeria & Ale House".


We arrived late on a warm Summer's afternoon and such was the popularity that there were no tables to be had. We had come this far so we weren't going to let that deter us as we took a seat by the bar to wait. The bar was like something out of Twin Peaks with stuffed animals, antlers and other knick-knacks, everywhere I looked something caught my eye. Not only that, they also had 49 taps to choose from so I grabbed a pint of "King Street Brewing" Pilsner which was recommended and we waited for our table.



Shortly after we were seated at our table outside and were ready to order. We had a stunning view overlooking the mountains, and even before eating the food I could see why this restaurant was so famous across the state.


FullSizeRender(20).jpg


It only took us a moment to find what we were looking for on the menu. There it was, and it only came in one sizzle "Grizzly" which meant large.


IMG_2816.JPG


$60 was a lot to pay for a pizza, but this was a once in a lifetime opportunity so why not! We ordered it, and sat back to enjoy the scenery and another beer while we waited for it to arrive. And then we saw it! WoW! It was BIG.....really BIG !!!



The pizza was at least 15 inches in diameter and had big chunks of delicious crab on top of it. But then aboce this were the legs and claws to eat. This was a real treat.



The pizza was delicious, and even with the two of us we couldn't finish it, but we weren't going to let it go to waste, so we took the remainder home and had it for breakfast the next morning. I ate some great food in Alaska but this was an unforgetable experience.

Stay tuned for more Alaskan Adventures:

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif


Sort:  

I have never been fortunate to travel Alaska, much to my regret. I have been to the States many times and Canada even more. I now live in Vietnam and have been in Southeast Asia for 9 years. I wish we could get pizzas like these here, it looks amazing. As for the beers wow! You really struck lucky with that place, Thanks for posting, I enjoyed reading and loved the photos. Upvoted and Resteemed.

Cheers, Alaska is a must see, what an amazing place. I also live in S/E Asia, have been in Thailand for 13 years now. I'm following you now, thanks for the resteem :)

wowww fantastic food and good post my steemit friend and always be happy and upvote..!

thank you for your kind comment :)

follow me and all post upvote plzz my sweet frind..!

Wow this looks so great, i guess is totally worth 60$ .
I live in Italy (the country of the pizza) but i've never seen a great pizza like that one in here.

I must go to Italy one day to try authentic pizza. This one for $60 was because of the cost of the King Crab and it fed 2 of us plus some for breakfast the next day :)

If you have the opportunity to go you should go to Naples (The most authentic and tasty pizza is made there)

I am out of words to say about this post
Because that one post makes me watering in my mouth
And even i thinking about that place to visit and ofcourse have pizza for eat
By the way thanks for the post

thanks, I am glad you enjoyed the pizza :)

keep posting buddy, i really enjoyed during reading. like an owl enjyoing in the below picture.

I've never had crab pizza but it looks good!

It is delicious !!!

First time I've seen crab pizza. It looks awesomely delicious. Man now I'm hungry and those chunks of crab are big!

if you get a chance, you really should try it :)

Please invite me next time when you order this pizza, yumm

I will invite you, but you need to get there! :)

Very nice post! :) Upvoted, resteemed and followed!

Please follow to help other stemians promote their posts! Lots of thanks!

My friend ....it has been a great experience for me also .....all three are uncomparable .......u, the beauti scene and pizza ......keep happy n explore such unique place more n more n updating us ........god bless u .........."water in mouth seeing pizza "

thank you for your kind words :)

my mouth is watering, i am planning a weekend out because of this! keep up the work, post more.... I am happy commenting on your posts :D

Go get yourself some pizza !!!

i did today :P i know its a bit late, but i did it :D enjoyed :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59