Anthony Bourdain says this is the Best Vietnamese Baguette in the World !!!! Who am I to Argue ?

in #food7 years ago

Banh Mi or Vietnamese Baguette is a personal favourite dish of mine, and apparently a restaurant in Hoi An has the best in the World. I needed to try it!


I grew up in Brisbane, Australia and we have a thriving Vietnamese community of about 20,000 people (approx). In my mid-twenties, thanks to some of my Vietnamese friends, I was introduced to the Vietnamese Baguette. At this time there was only one bakery in the suburb of Inala who made this treat, and folks would come from near and far each morning to by them before they sold out. They were divine, so when I heard that the best Banh Mi in the World were in Hoi An, where i currently am, I had to seek out the best. I asked the receptionists at our hotel, our driver, our guide, and they all gave me the same response.

"You must try Banh Mi Phuong".

BANH MI PHUONG

Image:http://itsoneworldtravel.com

Anthony Bourdain Likes it !

I soon discovered that it was not just the locals who loved "Phuong's Bakery", and would queue up to an hour to get one, but celebrity-chef Anthony Bourdain is also a fan. You can see his reaction to eating one in the video below.


What is Banh Mi?

When greeted with my options, I took the easy way out and ordered the "Banh Mi Deluxe"which meant give me everything. So what goes into making one of these?

Firstly the baguettes are warmed in a wooden box over burning coals until they are delightfully crispy. Three different types of pork go into the baguette; thinly sliced roast pork loin which was delicious, cha lua(pork meat-loaf) and the most important is the special pork liver pâté mixed with fat and ground pork which is juicy and full of flavor.



Next, the vegetables need to be added. Sprout-sized coriander, a healthy dose of mint, rau-răm(Vietnamese coriander) and thinly sliced green onions. A leaf of lettuce and a slice or 2 of tomato. Finally, a small amount of pickled-juliened carrots and long strips of cucumber complete the fresh ingredients.

The fried egg is a special extra only added to the "Deluxe" but really added an extra element to the meal. The last pieces of the puzzle are the sauces which remain closely guarded secrets, as each shop has their own brew that they hope will separate them from the competition. I know that there is some chili, mayonnaise, soy in there. I'm not a fan of mayo and in this case I barely noticed it. The sauce was divine. This was undoubtedly the best Banh Mi I have ever eaten in pretty much every way. For the price of about US$1.50 its almost worth the plane ticket to fly here and eat one. I know what I'm having for breakfast tomorrow.



Follow me for my other stories as I travel through Vietnam this week:
Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant


Click here to:

Sort:  

looks great - i grew up in Brissy too

nice one. I'm now following you too. Go Brisvegas!

That looks SOOOOOOOOOO delicious. Now i HAVE to try it.
Let the search begin.

Great article. I'm following now for more posts of your travels.

thanks for following. you must search out this delicious treat! :p

Wow! That looks so good! 😊 i would love to try that one of these days! I have a friend from vietnam! Will ask her where to get that! Nice! 😊

it really is yummy. your friend will know where to get the good one from

@bkkshadow, that looks awesome. In Asia you can find some really incredible food without breaking the bank. Eat one for me!

Have you tried the shop in w district? It's quite tasty at very good pices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64268.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51