Brazilian Homemade Seasoning Paste: Handy, Easy and Delicious!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

title_recipe.png

Today I am going to teach you how to prepare a homemade seasoning paste I've been using since I learned how to cook. This is not just a recipe, but something special I learned from both my grandmas (each one taught me their recipe) that has helped me lots and hope it can help you too.

In Brazil we use these ingredients in pretty much every recipe, because that's our cousine. But you can waste a lot of precious time chopping and peeling them, therefore, if you are tired (like me) of crying tears of onion (lol) or want to gain time in the kitchen, this paste can surely help you!

Invest a bit of your time to make this seasoning paste and it will save you time later. I can guarantee, if you are on a diet, you can use this to flavor anything. Just remember, this is my recipe, but you can add anything else you might find interesting as well.

But now let's go to what really matters:

Ingredients and tools

  • 2 big onions.
  • 2 heads of garlic.
  • 2 tablespoon of oil (of your preference).
  • blackpepper. (as much as you like)
  • a pinch of cayenna pepper.
  • A piece of ginger. (as much as you like)
  • food processor or blender.

ingredients1.png
post2.png
First step

You will need an sterilized pot, or as much as clean as you can. If you don't know how to clean one, I'd suggest you to add one spoon of bleach to half liter of water in a container, and dive your pot in this water, let it there for a hour or so. After this process, dry it with a clean paper towel and put it aside for your seasoning.

Second step

Peel the garlic and chop the onions.

Third step

Add all the ingredients in the food processor or blender and make the magic happen - which means, press the button ON.
If you think it's too thick to your taste, add two spoons of water. I prefer it a bit thick and with pieces I can chew, but I made it more processed so you can see how smooth it can be. If you have difficulty to get this consistence, just turn off you processor, bring the mix to the center of your machine, closer to the blades and process it again.

post3.jpg

Last step

Now that you got the consistence you like, it's time to store your paste in that clean pot and close it. Try to write down the date you made it. The oil we add in it will help to conserve it for weeks, but it's so good I think it won't last long, right?

mao.png
voilà!

I cook most of my recipes with this and to be honest, it gives a different kick to every kind of dish. I am quite sure it will save you time and bring more "oomph" to your meals.

Hope you guys like it, enjoy!
B


foto

Sort:  

I had this tonight. And it was delicious :)

Thanks meu amor!

very delicious @bkdbkd

It is! Thanks :)

Nossa, eu amo alho! Com certeza vou tentar fazer esses dias :)

É muito prático pra gente que ama alho! 😄

I'm going to try your recipe tomorrow!! It will be delicious with many things I cook. But one tip: don't use bleach. The smell of bleach can stay in the pot. What you must do to sterilize a pot (glass), take a pan with a lot of water. The pot and the lit must be completely under water. Let it boil for about 10 minutes, take it out and let it dry on a clean towel.
I save empty glass pots just to use them for recipes like yours!!

Try it! I'm sure you will love it!
A friend of mine who is a food engineer taught me this tip with bleach, you can't use too much of course, but it's just a tip, boiling it might help too! 😀

This recipe looks simple and should taste amazing, it has all the ingredients I already use. This will be so much easier. Thanks for sharing. upvoted and following.

Oh so then you'll love to have it all done and ready to use in your fridge! Thank you so much!

Bookmarked! Going to have to try this some day :D

Oh great! l swear, it's totally worth it :D

Hi princess how are you, very long time, nice food looks so sweet. Have a great time ahead.

Hi Maya, I'm good and you? It's actually not sweet since it's made with garlic and onions :)
You have a great time too. Thanks!

looks so sweet and Delicious , i like it ❤️

Hi, it's actually not sweet since it's made of garlic and onion, as you can see. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61