Holiday Cooking | Tips from the Bird Nest! DIY Dried Fresh Cranberries!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0055 (2).jpg

The Bird kitchen is busy! The Holidays will be here before we know it!


With just a couple of weeks before Christmas I want to have as many goods ready when the family gets together. We all have quite the sweet tooth as you know so having certain staples on hand is a must!


Morning bread and muffins are always necessary so I go through lots of nuts, raisins and cranberries. The last time I bought dried cranberries they were really expensive, about $4 per package. Fresh cranberries are pretty inexpensive (less than $2 per package) and readily available. They're such a healthy addition, full of anti-oxidants and nutrients. Another one of those Super-foods!


Did you know you could make dried Cranberries yourself? Yes you can!

todaysjourney.jpg


You can do it yourself! Dried Fresh Cranberries


Just 2 Ingredients Needed!

  • Fresh Cranberries
  • Organic Maple Syrup- Optional

This is so easy you’ll kick yourself for not doing this sooner! I dry both raisins and cranberries…they are so tasty…no preservatives and no processed sugar!


  • Wash and drain the fresh cranberries. Now pour boiling water over the cranberries. Cover the berries completely and set aside to allow the skins to pop. It should take just a few minutes. (This will help with the drying process.) Now place the cranberries on a cookie sheet and into the freezer for a couple of hours.

DSC_0002 (2).jpg


Now we dry the berries!


Oh, if you prefer a sweeter dried cranberry, toss the berries with Maple Syrup. You can use a dehydrator or the oven. Don’t worry, it doesn’t take that long!


Oven


Place the berries on a cookie sheet. Heat the oven 350 for 10 minutes, then turn the oven off and place the cranberries in the oven. Don’t open the door! Leave them overnight or until they are dried the consistency of a raisin.


Dehydrator


If using a dehydrator, dehydrate on the fruit setting until the berries are dry like raisins.


DSC_0021 (2).jpg


Remove when they’re dry! Love these, aren’t they beautiful?


DSC_0064 (3).jpg


Dried cranberries are great used in granola, breads, muffins or even as a salad topping! They store well in the fridge or freezer. I hope you’ll try this! No fancy equipment needed and it’s a great way to save a few dollars in the kitchen!


Thanks for stopping by the Bird Nest!
And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

I didn't used to like cranberries but its been years since i tried them and my tastes have changed so I guess I should try them again

They''re nice and tart! I know, our pallets do change....I like tart and spicy now...:) Not so much sweet! Glad to see you stopped by!

You really are so lucky to have fresh cranberries, I have not seen any locally!
Lovely post as always my friend :)

Oh wow, I didn't realize they weren't available to you. Not even in the freezer section at the market? Wish I could send some your way! Although...you too have amazing goodies I don't have! Thank you @lizelle, always such kind words :)

I've only seen them dried, but you've made me curious now, will have to see if it grows in South Africa.

Congratulations People’s Champ. Your new belt will look mighty nice at the end of your FFF posts 😉. Such a gangsta ! @birdsinparadise

You're amazing!!! Thanks for sharing the contest with me, looks like huge fun in the kitchen! Love the belt ;) I'll wear it proudly! Fridays will not be the same around the Bird Nest! Woohoo! You're they best!

Haha… the belt looks good on you 😉

Like a craisen! I love it. I used to put craisens on my salad all the time. When we get settled I’ll be going back through your recipes to warm up our home and our bellies.

Yes! However these are not so sugary sweetened. Really tart, just the way you want a cranberry my friends! Looking forward to your holiday magic in the kitchen! :)

I love the Christmas spirit my Dear Mrs. Bird, such a lovely photos. I bet these cranberries are yummylicious with Maple Syrup. I have to try it 🎄🌟🎄

Thank you my friend! I love to use cranberries! What goodies will you be making for the little ones? I'm sure they love coming to your house during the holidays! Pure heaven :)

Another fantastic tip! I definitely need to try to do these as fresh cranberries are abundant right now! @dksart loves dried ones in his morning yogurt, and putting some of these beauties in some oats or muffins sounds perfect!

I know he will love these...they don't take long and they're so good for you. Love the tart...not too sweet! Great in granola...on top of yogurt!!! That is my favorite too! Thanks for stopping by...hope you're enjoying the holiday prep and keeping all of your clients healthy :)

Beautiful! I have to try those yummies. Great to add in my porridge every morning. Thanks for instructions. X

They're so easy, thank you! I love to use them in granola....then on top of yogurt...Porridge would be amazing as well on a cold winter morning :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 335 (12/09/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36