Healthy | Chocolate Love | Gluten Free Goodness! Lets Bake!

in #food6 years ago

IMG_0267.JPG

Everyone loves chocolate right? Of course we do!


But what if you have gluten and refined sugar allergies? What to do?

We always loved having chocolate chip cookies, something which never lasted long in our house. Even throwing them in the freezer didn’t work…they would be found and eaten ... dough and all!

But when we realized this favorite recipe was causing migraines and intestinal issues with my daughter I had to stop baking one of their favorite treats!

As a mom, I always enjoyed baking treats for the family. A little gesture of love!

Over the next 6 years I tried several modifications, everyone was patient, saying oh gee mom, thanks theses are great. I knew they didn’t taste the same, I didn’t want to eat them. I tried different types of sweeteners, flour combinations, gluten free flours (not all are created equal), and chocolates.

Chocolates! We know good old milk chocolate, so smooth and creamy is loaded with sugar. We tried many dairy free, sugar free chocolates but found they were horrible, wouldn’t melt properly, they chocolate tasted like chaulk.

The results were bad!

To make matters worse, when you have to modify recipes for one member of the family you don’t want the rest of the family to suffer. You really develop a sincere appreciation what chefs go through refining their recipes!

I threw out a lot of cookies!

Patience….

Well, yesterday my daughter @mountainjewel was getting ready to head home and I always like to send some goodies home with her. I decided I would take another shot at those chocolate chip cookies as I know she loves them.

Guess what! I got a thumbs up from my latest recipe revision. So I thought I would share it with you!

Follow along fellow Steemians, you'll have to tell me what you think!

Chocolate Love: Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies:


cookie.jpg

Ingredients:

½ cup coconut oil
½ cup dairy free butter
1 ½ cup unrefined organic coconut sugar
1 tsp organic vanilla
2 eggs
2 cups gluten free all-purpose flour (I use cup4cup multipurpose gluten free flour)
1 tsp baking soda
2 cups diary, nut & soy free dark chocolate morsels ( I use Enjoy life 69% cacao dark chocolate)
1 cup chopped walnuts

Combine dry ingredients and set aside. Combine all wet ingredients with mixer and add dry ingredients to mix. When combined, stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Place by spoonful on parchment lined cookie sheet.
Bake 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees

Here we have Chocolate Love! Enjoy!

unnamed.jpg

I hope you will try this recipe and let me know what you think! I would love to hear your favorite gluten free recipes! Please do share!

Blessings to you all!

Sort:  

Hands down some of the best cookies you’ve made & best gluten free cookie I’ve ever had!! Love and miss you xoxo

Glad you enjoyed! Loved sending them with you on your journey home! Safe travels oxox

Mmmm! that looks so good @birdsinparadise I'll definitely show his to my mom!

I hope you enjoy them, easy to make! Thanks

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 17:08:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 57.05/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

2nd Lotto from @minnowfollower | Upvote the post for a chance win from ALL the SBD post rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36