Healthy Eating! | Walnut Spice Protein Bars!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0021 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Friends. Things are really heating up at the Bird nest this week. Both of our kids and their families will be arriving and we are quite excited.


Many of you may remember we have a new grandson! Fun times ahead!


I will admit I had to do a just a little shopping…..


DSC_0039 (2).jpg


As many of you know, new moms typically don’t eat well, they’re too tired or too busy to eat. Having my daughters here will allow me to pamper all of them! Today I thought I would make healthy protein bars to have on hand! These are gluten free, egg free and dairy free and packed with protein! A true healthy snack!


todaysjourney.jpg

Walnut Spice Protein Bars!

  • Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (2 tablespoons)
  • Baking Soda (2 teaspoons)
  • Ripe Bananas (2)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (1/4 cup)
  • Almond or Coconut Milk (2 tablespoons)
  • Vanilla (1 teaspoon)
  • Coconut Flour (1/2 cup)
  • Plant Based Protein Powder (1/2 cup)
  • Flax Seed (1/4 cup)
  • Cinnamon (1 teaspoon)
  • Sea Salt (dash)
  • Carrot Pulp or shredded carrot (3/4 cup)
  • Raisins (1/3 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/4 cup)

The Apple Cider Vinegar and baking Soda together will act as your leavening agent for the protein bars. Combine the Vinegar and Baking Soda in a mixing bowl…you’ll love the fizz! Add the bananas and mash the bananas. When they’re well mashed, add the rest of the wet ingredients and mix well.


DSC_0005 (2).jpg


Then add the balance of the dry ingredients and mix well. Now add the Carrot pulp. Beautiful isn’t it!


DSC_0012 (2).jpg


Now add the raisins and chopped walnuts. I dehydrate my raisins so they are quite large….I usually have to cut them in half! Mix well…wash your hands and get right to it!


DSC_0016 (2).jpg


Now we make the bars! Take a nice handful, roll it into a ball and then place it on a parchment lined baking sheet. Form the ball into a nice bar shape, about 1/2” thick.


DSC_0020 (2).jpg


Bake at 375 degrees of about 20 minutes. Watch carefully, they’ll burn easily! Remove them from the baking sheet and let them cool


Now you’re ready to rock and roll!


DSC_0032 (2).jpg

They’re great as a snack, or after a nice workout! Come on! Just one?

DSC_0033 (2).jpg

These will be a great snack for the family, we’ll take them with us on our first trip to the beach!
Thanks for stopping in today! Do you make protein bars? I would love to hear!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my word, those look so good @birdsinparadise!
Love the goodies for your little grandson, lucky baby!
Enjoy the visit my friend :)

Thank you @lizelle, it is indeed a special time! So fun! You are so sweet! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 286 (10/19/18)

These look awesome! Yay…👏👏 grandbaby visits and lots of kisses and snuggles to ensue. Congratulations on your newest addition… little tiny humans are just so remarkable.

These bars are the perfect protein bar I was looking for. I’ve never made one before but was just telling my husband that I want to bake our own protein bars so we know exactly what’s in it. The carrot is such a great touch. I wouldn’t have thought to use carrot initially but you make it look so appetizing. Great post @birdsinparadise. Enjoy your family :)

I hope you'll try making some. I have several protein bars I make, perhaps I'll share more some time. I do prefer to make my own...less additives right? I am certainly enjoying those baby snuggles, quite the miracle ;) Thanks for your sweet support my friend! Take care!

I’ll keep my eyes peeled for your other protein bars. First though, priorities… definitely have to make these blondies first 😉

Baby snuggles are the best, well puppy snuggles are great too :)

Yum, perfect snack! 😋 In the past I often made protein bars but now it's been quite a while since I've prepared them. I think I'll have to start making them again! :)

I love to make them too! They're so nice as a quick healthy snack. Thank you @jasmink! You'll have to share your favorite recipe!

These look fantastic! Gotta say that your recipes always work out well, I've tried those wraps and they tasted great! Totally forgot to take pictures, when I think about it, my food is usually already gone :D

I am so glad!!!! I would love to see pics some time, and as well, if you have favorite recipes you would like to share! ;) Thank you!

Those sound like a great snack, good for between meals

Thanks @tatoodjay! They are indeed tasty, a great in between snack, one you don't feel guilty about ;)

And I think I may have to try these better than the odd snack I do let myself have

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39