Healthy Eating DIY |The Birds Have gone Coco-Nuts Again!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0086 (2).jpg

Yep! We’re talking Coco-nuts again my friends!


Last week I shared a post about harvesting fresh coconuts. If you missed the post feel free to check it out . We really had a lot of fun with @mountainjewel and the results were refreshing coconut water and coconut meat! Of course the fresh coconut meat was delicious and enjoyed by all but I saved enough to dehydrate and use for another recipe idea!


Today I thought I would share another healthy protein snack which I think you’ll love! With the holiday season quickly approaching it’s easy to miss a meal and grab an unhealthy snack! These are easy to make, stored in the fridge or freezer and great for on the go!


Don't buy them! Make them yourself...no processed sugars, no preservatives!!! And they're fresh!


We start with this! Coconut!

DSC_0048 (2).jpg

todaysjourney.jpg

Tropical Goji Protein Balls


These are packed with protein, fresh fruits and veggies! With a slightly sweet, tropical taste even those who hate the thought of a vegetable will love them! I started my day with a tropical juice! Carrots, Orange, Pineapple and Lemon juice pulp will be included today. If you don’t juice, a cheese shredder works well for most veggies and many fruits.


I used…

  • Juice pulp (2cups)
  • 1 ½ cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut (1 ½ cup)
  • Coconut flour (1 cup)
  • Pitted Dates (1 cup)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (1/3 cup)
  • Organic Hemp Seeds (2tbsp)
  • Flax Seeds (2 tbsp.)
  • Chia Seed (2 tbsp.)
  • Goji Berries (1/4 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/2 cup)


Don’t have Coconut flour? That’s okay! Make it yourself! 1 1/3 cup shredded coconut into your blender and blend until fine and powdery! See, isn’t it lovely?


DSC_0052 (2).jpg


Place all of the dry ingredients into a large bowl with the juice pulp and mix well.


DSC_0054 (2).jpg


I poured half of this mixture into Walter, my food processor. Added the dates and Maple Syrup and let Walter do his job. Blending until the dates are well chopped and combined well with the pulp. Pour this back into your bowl and mix. I find using my hands works well! Pulse the walnuts and add along with the Gojis to your mixture. I formed the mixture into 1 ½ inch balls, rolling half of them in the shredded coconut. Cute aren't they?


DSC_0069 (2).jpg

They’re ready to eat now or freeze them for later!

DSC_0071 (2).jpg


I really like having these on hand this time of year. If you have a sweet tooth, pop one in your mouth and you’re good to go! Heading to the gym, packed with protein they’re a great pick-me-up!


Come on, just try one! You won't be disappointed!


DSC_0098 (2).jpg


Kids both big and small will love you for these. Do you have a favorite protein snack? I would love to hear!

And as always, blessings to you all

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Those protein bites look gorgeous! I can imagine these amongst my usual Christmas candy adding beautiful pops of color. Very holidayish :) Would you send some over my way @birdsinparadise ? I always like stopping by your place for a yummy bite 😁

Oh I love the holidays...and baking, this year it will be even more fun because I get to share with all of you! I can't wait to see what you prepare. Thank you my friend :)

These are amazing and I have almost all the ingredients except pulp :( Oh well, I will have to come up with an alternative. They really look divine my Dear 🌸💖🌸

You are too kind my dear. Well, I have used my cheese grater for shredding ;) I'm sure your sweet grandsons would love popping them in their little mouths!

You used cheese grinder to make juice pulp? How?

The boys would love them for sure 🌸💖🌸

Ugh, I meant shredder...you know what I mean? I'm sure you could do apples, carrots, any fruits or veggies that could be used with a shredder. I know the boys would love them! I love to mix and match different fruits, veggies, raisins, nuts....then add hemp seeds, flax....the sky is the limit! :)

You brought my old memories back. My mother used to make those. They are so delicious.

Aww, that is so sweet! I love hearing this. Did she use any different ingredients? They're such a healthy snack, just a bit of natural sweetner. Thank you for stopping in :)

https://www.vegrecipesofindia.com/narkel-naru-recipe/
Here is the recipe. Its pretty much like that :) Always a pleasure to visit your blog :)

You'll make me go coconuts still with all these delights, I just looove coconut! I'm sure I won't be disappointed ;)

hehe, you are so cute! I love coconut too, have to control myself ;) It's all fun though, thank you my friend! You'll have to share your coconut recipes.

They look lovely and very coconuty :) Thank you for sharing such a great recipe with us! 💚

You are so kind @zen-art! I'm glad you liked them, if you try them I would love to hear your thoughts :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 313 (11/15/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46