Peaches & Cream - My Non-Dairy Version

in #food7 years ago

Since I can't eat cream because of my casein allergy (and whatever the other protein molecule in cow's milk is called) I substituted cream with Yogurt (Coconut based).

And it's funny because "Peaches & Cream" is what it says on the Green Giant corn cans haha AND it's a ragtime song.

20180216_221342.jpg

Anyway, what I did to have peaches with "cream", is I took frozen peaches from a mix of frozen fruits. I actually picked out the peaches and left the mangos alone. I let them thaw for about an hour or so. Cut them up a but, poured maple syrup on them. This way they absorb the maple syrup before mixing them into the yogurt. The yogurt hence blending better with the flavour of the peaches, and not peaches and maple syrup, since I was not trying to make a maple flavour.

20180216_221708.jpg

I used the Yodo Coconut Yogurt, Unsweetened. And then mixed everything up together. The amount of yogurt depends on how yogurty I want it or how fruity and chunky I want it.

And voilà. My Non-Dairy version of Peaches & Cream :p

20180216_221942.jpg

Sort:  

Hey :) Have you tried Cashew cream? It is gorgeous and very much like cream. I just soak cashews overnight, rinse and blitz them in my magic bullet, then I add a little cashew milk, vanilla extract and maple syrup to sweeten to your taste and blitz. :)

Oooh, that sounds divine :p

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:03:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 36.35/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hmmmm nice post. Firstly I didn't know a person could be allergic to casein?
That is a new study for me.

Thanks for sharing an alternative. It looks really good, how is the taste?

Yes, it is both proteins that are found in cow's milk to which I am allergic. The allergy is more like an intollerance, but it is very severe and I will get very sick if I consume milk. I am very sensitive and it causes even candida in my body (in digestive system too) if there is even just a speck of cross contamination. It's very unpleasant, to say the least. That's why I've learnt to bake and cook using alternative milk replacements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76