Don't judge a book by its cover.

in #food6 years ago

It all started with a conversation on what to eat for dinner. Seems like we always have a meat, vegetable, and a starch. Seems like a pretty standard meal equation for most families, but I was getting tired of it. My wife likes to read, and always gets random books given to her, and this was one. 20180304_205201.jpg

I thought great, my wife is going to have us go on a weird diet, I am not one who ever has looked into diets, so don't try and debate me on if it is a good diet or not, because I don't really care. But she picked out a recipe, because we had everything at the house for it. This is what she picked.20180304_205242_001.jpg

It is Chicken adobo with orange and wilted spinach, I replied looks good lets give it a shot. Was pretty quick to make, and I will tell you wow, it will definitely be a meal made again at my house. The flavors blended and complemented each other very well. Was kinda fancy but did not take a ton of time to make. Was really easy on the wallet for the amount of food made to. Here is the picture from the book, and we will be trying other recipes from there. So moral of the story, don't judge a book by its cover. 20180304_205251.jpg

Sort:  

I looked up this diet online and read it excludes coffee, instant denied.

Your dish looks great though! I think I have 9/10 of those ingredients lying around too...

Ya like I said, not into the diet, but it does have some great meals. How many cups do you drink a day?

3-4 too much!

Looks tasty. We are usually very similar in our meals here as well. Meat, starch and veg. We do however take make a lot of meals with “clean eating” recipes. We subscribed once to a clean eating magazine and the recipes were quite good. It requires a bit of extra work and planning to make sure all your ingredients fit the “clean” bill. It’s very healthy. Nothing processed at all. Everything is fresh and homemade and the additives are greatly reduced or altogether eliminated. Tough to do full time, takes a lot of commitment. That’s why it’s part of our coking but not 100%. We are still careful about the things we buy though.

Only problem with the clean eating stuff, is I am always at the store. You don't want to buy a ton of stuff at once, because it gets old pretty quick.

True, and all the obscure spices in these recipes. Gets costly.

I agree we should not explore the outer part of anything we should always look inwards

Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment! / https://steemil.com/steemit-abuse/@spaminator/updated-your-reputation-could-be-a-tasty-snack-with-the-wrong-comment

Thank You!

Spamming detected here. Dealt with

100% agreed ! Mouthgasmic food !!

That picture from the book look so real. : )

You can actually make some really nice paleo meals. The diet can be restrictive but in the end I think it is a really healthy diet. Well done!

I am into things that taste great, and I had some misconceptions about the meals.

What a great post it is! I like it.thank you for your post

Don't judge a book by its cover = Your eyes are like throwing a closed arrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61016.36
ETH 3388.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56