Easy Sweet Potato Flatbread/Roti Recipe - 2 Ingredients + Vegan by Veganlovlie

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Greetings and peace to you all!!!

Today I want to share another wonderful recipe that is VEGAN and super easy to make. I said last week I was going to attempt to make these sweet potato roti/flatbread, and I did! Even non-vegans can enjoy these treats!

The roti is holding the falafel I made, as you can see in the above photo. If you're interested in the falafel recipe I use, check my post out here. I love this recipe because it does not require oil or salt AT ALL!!! It was such a success, my husband LOVED them, so we made them a few more times. As you can see below, homemade mashed pinto beans with tomatoes, topped with sauteed corn, onion, green pepper, and eggplant, topped with a homemade avocado, coriander lime sauce made a nice combination with the roti.

Again, they were SUCH a hit, I even tried them with white sweet potatoes! You could totally fool someone into eating sweet potatoes this way... 😇

My husband said he liked the regular sweet potatoes the best, but they are both amazing. I liked either or, and thought they were wonderful! The recipe makes 6 roti. They are simple, cheap, super filling, and relatively fun to make! You can't beat only using sweet potato and flour! Next time I think I will try to use whole wheat flour to make them a bit healthier. Here is the video below to show you step-by-step by Veganlovlie:

I don't have a rolling pin, so mine never come out in perfect circles, although they taste just as good! I use a round glass jar to roll them out. Whatever works, right? 😅 😎
Pro Tip: One key to making softer/fluffier and lighter roti is to sift your flour. It came out lovely and a bit chewy. Yum!

I hope you can enjoy this recipe because we did and we will continue to make these from time-to-time! Let me know in the comments section below if you tried these or what your thoughts are! Are you all hungry yet? I am!🙃

Note: All photos used here were taken with my I-phone.

Be well!



Gif Credit

Sort:  

Such a lovely idea. Thanks for the inspiration ;)

Thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you enjoyed the post. I tried using 1/4 cup of almond flour 1/2 cup of whole-wheat flour, and 1/4 cup of all-purpose and it comes out nice too. It seems using almond flour tends to make them fall apart easier, so I found no more than 1/4 of almond flour and to use all-purpose flour generously when rolling them out.

We make it once a week it seems now. I made some last night along with some sweet potato and black bean bisque, which paired well together. I also made some baba ganoush and made the roti to go along with it for a gathering, it was enjoyed and went well together. I hope you have a great weekend! :)

I love the creativity and resourcefulness of these. Well, that, and they look tasty.

AJ picked your post @belovebelight for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you very much! :)

They look amazing, I wish I had the patience to try all these recipes myself lol

It's not that hard to do ;)

Ok, Judi , I just want to know if you got a drive through window ...I would love an order of that ! LOL .

LOL! You could just come over some time to eat at the table ;) Or we could try to cook together. :)

Your falafels look amazing 🌱

Thank you! I try not to use oil and they come out wonderful! The trick is to soaking dry chickpeas overnight and not boiling them before forming the falafel! They are one of my favorites! Fresh parsley and coriander make them wonderful too!

They look amazing!!!

I must try these!

I am not vegan...but I have to admit that it looks yummy.

They look very delicious. coincidentally, I've been looking for vegetarian recipes and this came as a ring on finger

I'm glad these recipes will suit you well. Enjoy them and let me know how yours turn out if you make them! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70