Falafel Recipe Review - For the Win!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Being someone who doesn't eat meat, beans are my go to!


Source

I love being creative and trying anything new! I've travelled all over the world, and Asian and Middle Eastern food seem to place a big spot in my heart. I LOVE all of the flavours that meld together and compose a symphony on your taste buds. Over the past two weeks, I found this recipe for falafel and I tried it. In this recipe she uses the following ingredients:

INGREDIENTS
1 cup dried/uncooked chickpeas
1/2 cup packed fresh parsley leaves
1/2 cup packed fresh cilantro leaves
1/2 cup chopped white onion
3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
3 Tablespoons olive oil

Something very interesting I found and tried was the first time I didn't have enough time to soak the beans for more than 12 hours. The second time I made this (last night) I was able to soak the beans for 24 hours. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! If you make this, be sure to soak the beans for 12-24 hours, do not use canned or cooked beans! The texture will not hold with cooked/canned beans as it did with the only soaked beans. Please see the recipe for directions. I actually ended up pan frying each side of my falafel patties because my oven was experiencing technical difficulties. I had to use a bit more olive oil than the recipe called for to pan fry them.

This recipe though is by far my favourite so far to make falafel. It made 13 patties. I've tried making it in the past and it hasn't been as good as this! My husband told me "this is better than some of the falafel I had in Israel!" This is a cheap and easy way to make a great dinner! I served it over quinoa because I am currently out of rice. The time prior I put the falafel over rice.

Ta-Da!

All I can say is...


Source

This will be something I incorporate more into meals, perhaps next time with some hummus! Let me know if you try this and what you did to make it a winning dish in your family! I hope you all have a safe and great New Years!

Be well!

Sort:  

They look pretty tasty <3 thank you for sharing another recipe :)

Yep, I'd eat 'em. I miss the way they serve them in Israel, with pita and everything else.

At minimum, they should be drenched in some sort of creamy goat cheese and cucumber sauce.

Yes, please! These look incredible!

Hmm falafels. staple food at our home ;)

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Super tasty! #Winning 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67202.29
ETH 2597.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66