Pre Good Friday Seafood : Mussels in White Wine Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180330_103503.jpg

I woke up yesterday, my hip feeling better than the last couple of days. I thought, Yas! I can get stuff done today and got out of bed.

By that afternoon the pain moved up and over to my ribs on the left hand side.

I wish I was kidding.

At this point I'm pretty worried. Seriously, WTF is going on with my body? But I'm remaining positive as I don't want to bring on anything else.

Since I'm still sick, Hubby did the usual and shopped his little heart out and I started getting photos while he's on the hunt.

First the crabs.. Which I did say no to since our fridge and freezer is packed.

IMG-20180329-WA0001.jpg

Then these zucchini flowers.. Which was a yes, I'm thinking hubby can make these... 👀

20180330_105156.jpg

A few hours later he came home with another huge box, this time filled with veggies and the crabs...

20180330_103428.jpg

He got the crabs, but they were already cooked and cleaned so that was awesome. It will just need hot water over them and a bowl of burnt butter for dipping.

By then I've become accustomed to the dull ache on my left hand side, dinner was due and I didn't feel like eating anything except mussels. I thought maybe my food cravings might be linked to what s wrong with me so I made the mussels.

This is a no fuss, quick mussels recipe. With my body pains a constant reminder I needed something super basic.

Mussels in White wine

Prep time 5 mins | Cook time 10-12

Ingredients

1 kg Mussels (cleaned & de-bearded)
2 Tbs Olive Oil
1 Red Onion
Parsley
8 Garlic Cloves (minced)
1 cup White Wine (any one you like)
1 cup Chicken Stock
4 Tbs butter

Method

  • Chop the onions
  • Mince the garlic
  • Olive Oil in the big pot medium heat
  • Throw onions and garlic in and sautee for 2 minutes.
  • Add wine and chicken stock in and boil for 3 minutes
  • Cut a 2 sprigs of parsley into the pot

20180329_200800.jpg

  • Throw pre prepared mussels in

20180330_103244.jpg

  • Cover with lid
  • Reduce heat to simmer for 5-7 minutes
  • Add butter in the pot and stir

20180329_202123.jpg

And you're done!

This was us last night.

20180330_103607.jpg

Paying for it today for sure, but it was so worth it. As it was, I didn't need to cook the mussels because I fell in love with the crab and the journey involved in getting to all the meat. Having burnt butter to dip the soft sweet crab in that butter just took it to a whole other level.

Cooking tip!!

Since this recipe asks for 8 cloves of garlic (which was pretty much a whole head or garlic), I took a short cut in peeling the cloves.

Some people might think a whole head of garlic is a lot. But my Chicken Adobo recipe needs about 2 heads of garlic (sometimes 3). Those who have peeled garlic knows it can be a time consuming and fiddly job.

But it doesn't need to be..

Grab your garlic cloves, chuck them in a container with a lid, put the lid on and shake it until all the garlic have been peeled. See?

20180330_103356.jpg

For tonight I've got the fish defrosting for a Brazillian fish stew recipe I want to try and it looks like Hubby will be cooking that tonight. The prawns, oysters and balmain bugs are in the fridge just needing sauce and dressing ~ so that's all pretty easy.

We didnt pay much attention last year so were trying to make an effort this year. What's on the menu at your place today?

I hope you all have a safe and happy Easter.

🌼 Arly

Sort:  

sarap nman mommy... pahingi nman.. yum yum..

Kami telah upvote yaa.. 🙂

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hala sarap naman po 😘😘😘

My favourite! So good and so easy to make. YUM!
Hoppy Easter Arly :)

Happy Easter @osm0sis!

Yikes! Expensive vegetable flower! (^^)
Lets do homesteading! Let's just plant vegetables! Nutritious and natural and saves on budget! (^
^)

Ikr!! I wish I saw the price earlier!! I would have said no lol #homesteading all the way!!

Hahahaha... Gotcha!

Wow, it looks like party food.
That's cool.

This looks incredible, the Mussels in white wine look fantastic and I bet the crab was delicious. It's a shame you are still not so well, hopefully it will improve soon or you might need to get it looked at. Maybe Roast Chicken for our meal tonight.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

@c0ff33a it was delicious! Its been a very long time since I've had roast chicken, how was it? Have you tried charcoal chicken?

Wow ... very tasty, I want to taste it @bearone

All my favourite seafood! Yum! Would you please take it easy until you can go and see a doctor?

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61