How to Cook the Famous Adobo

in #food6 years ago

If you will visit the Philippines make sure to taste the well-known Filipino dish called Adobo. The original Adobo has the ingredients of pork or chicken, vinegar, salt and garlic cloves which we use to call in our barrio as “Adobong Matanda”. Today, there's a lot of variants of Adobo. The most common and well-known is the Adobo with vinegar and soy sauce or the Black Adobo. Many Filipinos reinvented the ingredients and added something else. Some might add pineapple chunks, potatoes, bell peppers, boiled eggs, and they also tried to do it on some vegetables like sitaw and kangkong, squid and fish. You can see the picture below for a sample of combined pork and chicken Adobo.

adobo-2098032_1920.jpg

Every time I went back home to Laguna during rest days my wife always asked me to cooked Adobo. Since her favorite food is chicken so we always cooked Chicken Adobo. Sometimes we also cooked a combined of Pork and Chicken Adobo.

So here are the ingredients:

1 kilo of Pork/ Chicken or combined
½ cup of soy sauce
½ cup of vinegar
bay leaves about 5 to 7 pieces
2 tbsp garlic crushed
1 tbsp whole pepper corn
1 to 2 cups of water (optional)

So let me start on giving you the way how to cook Adobo. I’m just giving out the instructions base on what I’ve learned from my Mom.

Instructions:

  1. combined the pork/chicken soy sauce, garlic and vinegar and marinade for 30 mins to 1 hour

  2. heat the pot and put the marinated meat and add the bay leaves and cook for 15 to 30 mins in low fire

  3. if you want it dry you didn’t need to add water but if you want it to have sauce you can add 1 to 2 cups of water and simmer for another 15 mins

  4. serve and enjoy!

Very easy right? You can also add potatoes, bell peppers and pineapple chunks if you want.
Thanks everyone for dropping by! I hope everyone will also try to cook it too. You can also hit “follow” to see my next post soon. Have a great time here on steemit!

*But please be reminded that I’m not a chef. I’m just a father, husband and an ordinary person. So if there’s any chef or anyone good in cooking who can read this specially a Filipino you can correct me on the comment section if there are any mistakes on the instructions. Thanks again!

Sort:  

Seems nice. :-) I am interested in new recipes.

Yes your right! it's very easy to prepare. You can also try the other recipe i posted https://steemit.com/food/@ayerz/goat-caldereta

OK, I will :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63