Chicken Manicotti In Mushroom Sauce

in #food7 years ago (edited)

There's been a box of manicotti pasta in my cupboard for a while just waiting on me to figure out something different from meat sauce and cheese.


We hadn't had my chicken casserole in a while. That sounded tasty.

I did a quick mental run-down of ingredients I had on hand, when I got to the type of pasta, I hesitated. Normally, I'll use some sort of elbow or shell variety. This time I decided to try a twist, and grabbed the manicotti instead.

A few other basic ingredients got the ball rolling.

I used one hefty boiled chicken breast, carefully pulled into medium uniform pieces. I set that aside and moved on to preparing the sauce.


In a medium sauce pan, I placed 2 Tablespoons of Brummel and Brown spread (butter or margarine is okay) and an equal amount of cornstarch. I blended over a low heat 'til it pulled all together. Next, I added the small can of mushroom soup and blended it with the roux. When they were mixed, I tossed in 1 Tablespoon each of the the dried onion flakes, minced garlic and dried basil. Mixed those in thoroughly. Finally, I added one soup can full of milk. I raised the heat to medium - stirring continuously 'til the sauce thickened. (You can see it sticking to the side of the pan.)


When it got to my preferred consistency, I put it aside off the heat momentarily and loaded the chicken pieces into the uncooked manicotti. I just used my hands, no utensils. It's messy, but the most efficient method.

I only did one layer in a deep casserole dish. Taking note of the way I 'd arranged them, I poured all the sauce over the pasta. I happened to have a few pieces of chicken left over, so I placed them over each individual shell. The idea was to make it easier to know which way to take them out again.

I baked it at 325 F for about a half an hour. Just enough to cook the pasta through. I also put a few dabs of butter on the top with 10 minutes left to help it brown off.


Yum!!

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

This dish looked really good. I cannot recall ever using that type of pasta before, but it looks I have a reason to get some now. Thanks for including how you made your Chicken Manicotti because I think, after reading this, people are going to want to try it. Great Job!

Thanks! Manicotti is one of lesser used type of pasta in my experience, too. Usually, it stuffed with some kind of cheese, then a red meat sauce covers it. It's fun to change things up now & again. Hubby even suggested an alfredo sauce instead of the mushroom next time.

I'd love to see what you think of this dish, or better yet, see what you'd do with such a versatile shaped pasta. It's fun to experiment!

My my my what delicious food you make.

Looks really good! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

Thanks and you're welcome! It turned out well for a 'test run'.

that looks very tasty. Keep these coming!!

Thanks! It's been a while since I did one. Fun times!

Is there anyway to airdrop this for me? I think I just fell in love! 😍

LOL! Thanks and give it try yourself... easy dish!

that mushroom sauce looks so, so yummy! they're one of the best things to pair with chicken, in my opinion.

i noticed i had some spinach leftover in the fridge, that was about a day from being too limp to enjoy. i wonder if that could be added to something like this? maybe added in with the sauce, or at the bottom beneath the pasta?

The combo was tastier than I thought it would be. Usually, this kind of thing is bland. The mushroom soup made a noticeable difference! I'd add the spinach on top of the pasta, so the pasta will soak up the juices better. I'll bet that'd be a nice touch!

i love exchanging food ideas - thank you, @aunt-deb!

Yummy! That looks delicious. I'm bookmarking this one!

Thanks! It definitely fills you up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35