You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SNAP Food Stamp Challenge – Week 1 – Day 3

in #food7 years ago

Still no luck with the beans? When you soak overnight, don't heat them.

Put them in a pot with 6-8 cups of water and let them soak. Drain the water and refill with at least another 6 cups of fresh water. Then bring them to a boil, reduce heat to low and let them simmer for 1-2 hours until they are to the tenderness that you desire. Put a lid on during simmering, but leave the lid slightly tilted/open. And don't stir the beans a lot or you'll break the skin.

Now, it should be noted that the beans won't necessarily taste good...this is just for cooking and tenderness. You'll still need to season them to your liking.

If the issue is that your beans are just way too hard, you might want to consider trying a different bean type or trying a different/better brand. I've found that there is sometimes a huge difference in quality between brands. If you're buying bulk or an off-brand, there may be a reason why it's so much cheaper. If you can get the same type and amount of beans for $0.10 or $0.20 more from a more reputable brand, I'd give that a shot.

But maybe try black beans first? I've never had problems cooking them versus red/kidney beans.

Sort:  

Yeah, my problem was that they were still hard even after all that cooking. I guess I was doing it wrong by doing this 'quick soak' method I read about?

It could be that these are an off-brand as I have limited myself to shopping at the 99 Cents Only store and it is mostly off-brand stuff there. I had no idea that even basic beans were different! I thought since it was so simple that a bean is a bean.

Next week I will look for black beans and see if they are easier to prepare - thanks!

Don't think there's a quick soak. My wife makes them pretty much like ats said, soak over night. It's a long progress for some bean :/

I would do

  • rinse
  • soak overnight
  • drain
  • let sit damp for 2-3 days
  • rinse once or twice a day until they start sprouting

I have never once been able to just soak beans and cook them for a long time. My beans always come out hard and sprouting is much better for me. They taste better and are easier to cook. You can eat when the sprouts are short or long for different effects.

Also - cook without all your additions and add them at the end. This way they do not disintegrate.

Try lentils next week maybe - easier.

You are doing great. Keep going and you will be gourmet by Week 3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47