You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buying Some El Salvadorian Tortillas. El Salvador Life. #ULOG #51 #WalkWithMe

in #food6 years ago

hiya @joalvarez.
Over here in the UK we have Tortillas but they look nothing like what you have photo'd, they are between 10 and 12" wide and they are so flat, when you bite into the wrap you can't really taste anything apart from the filling.
We tend to put fajita chicken in ours as it is great when it is wrapped together with red peppers and onion.

The fact that you have them making the Tortillas on the street is amazing to see, ours come from a factory where they make thousands at a time, it cost £1 for 8 now over here.
We have just found a little takeaway shop that makes them by hand and they are really nice, I think they have added garlic to the mix as it has a nice taste to it, and they are a little thicker. we have only eaten from there once as it was on our way home from been out with friends, but I would love to have another one as I think it was one of the best I have ever had.
anyway until next time steemon

Sort:  

I know what kind of tortillas you are talking about because we have those here too and just like you said you buy those from the stores and they are made in the factory.
I love those tortillas for fajitas or burritos, but these are made from white flour.
These tortillas are quite different and they also make those all over Central America, but all the countries make them a little bit different. Some make them skinnier and bigger, some make them smaller etc.
Thank you for your lovely visit @artonmysleeve
Have a lovely day.

I see, nothing beats fresh I bet? I am going to try and make some for my self I keep looking on line for a good recipe but up to now it doesn't look like there is any good ones as of yet. fingers crossed something comes up in the future :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63