Basil Infused Simple Syrup Recipe & Cocktail! Vita's Green Slip

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7537.JPG
Oh basil, you grow like a madman around here!
IMG_7528.JPG
Now if you're like me and love and collect various varieties of basil you'll know if you are not quick enough to harvest it it bolts. If your basil bolts, don't discard the blooms! Harvest them for some infused simple syrup!

And that is exactly how my day was spent yesterday, harvesting, dehydrating, infusing and propagating!
IMG_7534.PNG
Lime basil is one of my favorite basils to use in cocktails. Whether muddled in a gimlet or added as an infusion to a cocktail, this fresh, citrusy and aromatic herb is quite refreshing in any drink, lemonade included!

In order to make 1 batch of simple syrup harvest about 15 stalks of basil blooms and 8 sprigs of thyme. I used lime thyme to keep the citrus theme going. Bring 2 cups of water to a boil, add 1 cup white sugar and stir until dissolved. To this add the throughly cleaned herbs in a mesh bag. I use paint straining bags I get at Home Depot, just make sure to throughly clean them before using.
IMG_7531.JPG
Continue to boil for at least a minute then turn off the flame and let sit covered for approximately 10 minutes more.
Remove the herbs and pour into a glass jar with a lid. This stores wonderfully refrigerated for a couple of months but tastes freshest when used within 3 weeks.

Now for the yummy cocktail in the first picture, Vita's Green Slip:

For this drink you will need:
15 basil leaves
2 oz basil infused syrup
2 oz fresh lemon juice
4 oz gin
Ice

Add all ingredients to shaker and shake vigorously! Strain, serve and garnish with a basil stalk!
IMG_7541.JPG
Enjoy!

Do you make your own infused syrups?
IMG_6732.JPG

Sort:  

I really enjoyed your post, thank you for sharing with us. Enjoy the vote!

Thank you! I appreciate your up vote and the you stopping by :)

You never seem to stop working Art. jack of all trades.

Sometimes it feels like it haha but I am glad I have the health and energy to do so :)

Very beautiful steem doll I have tons of basil! And you know alot of people almost to sixty or more rep comment but don't vote I don't get it

I have seen your posts on your garden, so lush and green I love it! Yeah I don't get it either votes are weird, btw your grasshopper photograph should be entered on one of the steemit contests friend!

Love the fragrance of Basil. I have never made a syrup from it, although this got me thinking about Lime Basil Kombucho😉
BTW- What is it with people that come by and don't upvote or even answer comments? Those that have the most seem to give the least! Had to vent, it bugs me, happens all the time at my blog.🐓

I love when I cut the herbs and the scent lingers on you! I even like the tomato leaf smell haha
I don't know why people do that either, it's strange, I've seen it happen on so many blogs too!

Wonderfull recipes that is getting shared!

I love basil so much, it's my fave actually but it does not seem to love my climate up here. I have tried everything to get great patches growing outside and they always end up looking like a Charlie Brown Xmas here... one or three sprigs trying to hang on. lol

Thank you friend!
OMG the Charlie Brown Christmas tree haha
I can't grow cucumbers here if my life depended on it! I feel ya!

Yes please I will have a glass sounds very tasty :)

Have two I'll pick you up and we will go drink it by the river :)

That sounds amazing, can't wait :)

Oh now i understand about the basil and thyme comment you made earlier!
It seems you have a lot of these herbs! Btw do you use the basil seeds too?

haha yes, I have been knee deep in these herbs recently!
I use basil seeds as well! Do you?

Oh yes i use it a lot actually! Mixed a a chilled sweetened milk with rose syrup and condensed mik, just so refreshing!

Stop! haha I'm such a fan of crushed ice with condensed milk and rose syrup.... le sigh...

Excellent comment, I really like your work. I think it is very objective in the analysis and in what you want to convey. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

Glad you liked it, please upvote 😉

I love it! Great idea using the paint straining bags...a wonderful idea. I am a definite basil lover. I grew pineapple basil last year and it was good. I never thought of using it for a recipe like this. I love your decor. Is that a Shabby Chic buffet? We use to sell Shabby Chic furniture to clients in NYC. Have a wonderful evening. Tess :)

Paint straining bags are so affordable and come in all sizes! I love them :)
Yes my whole house is shabby/brocante chic! (good eye!) I too used to sell antiques and shabby pieces when I lived in the east coast :)

I will have to dig up some pics and make a post. I love Shabby Chic! I am laying in our Shabby Chic bed! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36