Oat Cookies in the Oven Today :: Recipe Plus Health Facts Included

in #food7 years ago (edited)


I have recently come across an offer for 2x 500grams Quaker Oats for AED 9.50 ($2.58) and decided to buy. My thoughts: make granola bars, oats cookies, energy balls or just plain oats porridge.

My kids love oatmeal, just add chocolate powder and that's it. Seems like champurado to them.

Oats are very nutritious hence I love to serve them to my kids in any form. They are loaded with lots of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants:

Each 1/2 cup of dried oats contains:

  • Manganese: 191% of the RDI
  • Phosphorus: 41% of the RDI
  • Magnesium: 34% of the RDI
  • Copper: 24% of the RDI
  • Iron: 20% of the RDI
  • Zinc: 20% of the RDI
  • Folate: 11% of the RDI
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin): 39% of the RDI
  • Vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid): 10% of the RDI
  • Smaller amounts of calcium, potassium, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) and vitamin B3 (niacin)
    (Source: http://www.healthline.com)

Oats are also high in fiber and therefore could help relieve constipation. It is also recommended for people who have high cholesterol levels as the high soluble fiber in oats called beta-glucan can lower LDL (bad) cholesterol and help fight against heart disease.

Researches also say that people with Type 1 & 2 Diabetes can also benefit from oats. Oats can help improve insulin sensitivity and lower blood sugar levels.

Oats also can have the ability to help us feel fuller for longer, thereby help us cut weight too. Those with oily and acne-prone skin can also apply oats on their skin. Oats have antibacterial properties and help soak up excess oil from the skin. [1]


Most of the cookie recipes I find generally use butter. This time, I looked for a substitute and found that I can use other oils like canola or coconut oil in making these delicious cookies.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder ( this time around, only my sweetened drinking chocolate powder was available )
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups rolled oats (I used quick cooking white oats)
To add texture to my cookies, I added chopped dates and prunes that were sitting in our fridge. You may add raisins or chocolate chips, whichever suits your liking.

Yield: 25 cookies

Procedure:

1. Preheat the oven to 300°C. Prepare the baking dish, grease or line with wax paper.

2. In a bowl, mix together all dry ingredients - flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, salt, chocolate powder, cinnamon and oats.

3. Add the oil, vanilla and egg. Other recipes would call for the sugar to be creamed together with the oil or butter, but mixing them as above did get the same results for me.

4. Add the dried fruits (or chocolate chips, whichever you prefer)

5. Mix all the ingredients properly then form into small balls.

6. Press the rounded oatmeal cookie batter into the baking sheet.

7. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies turn light brown.



The cookies are soft and chewy, which is how I wanted them to turn out. I found out, however, that it is too sweet for my taste. Perhaps due to the fact that I used sweetened chocolate powder, at the same time the dates and prunes, which also have their own natural sweetness. I may have to omit the white sugar on my next attempt or use unsweetened chocolate powder.

I put my second batch on a lower level in the oven, nearer to the fire. Not a good idea. It burned. Huhu.

Anyway, not to worry since I know that hubby @kennyroy will still eat that. LOL. On top of that, I still have the first batch perfected, now in a jar. Best enjoyed with coffee to neutralize the sweetness.

Other times, I normally "fortify" my cookies or granola bars/bites with flaxseeds meal. Flaxseeds are a great source of fiber and Omega 3. This time around, I forgot to include these power seeds into my recipe. I will definitely add some next time.










Credits to @elyaque for the followers and reputation badges, @merej99 for the Community Engagement Badge. Want your own Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers, Preppers badge? Contact @daddykirbs


Sort:  

It is a very good food @arliinn because it is very nutritious.

Tasty! This will be perfect for early morning breakfast for me. 😊👍

yes, great for breakfast, great anytime. 😊

Thanks for passing by @smokinglems!

Oatmeal cookies seem to look not very appetizing, but they taste amazing and useful.

Yeah, it took me some time to get to like oats too. But since it has lots of benefits, I came to love it already. 😉

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @arrliinn to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Pengeeee... dala ka dto sa bahay,,, daanan mo ung sandals for gabbgabb 😍

Alin, yung 2nd batch? LOL. I'll see tomorrow if sisipagin. May pasok kenut tom eh. 😉

Basta hindi mapait... pwede na!! 😂😂 mag choosyyy pa ba ako 😂😂😂



Mmmm those oats cookies look great!
Thank you for putting in the effort into making that post so nice! You deserve success here.

Keep it up!

Thanks @enazwahsdarb! 😉love the comment banner...

Yummy. Poor @kennyroy have to eat the second batch. Lol.

haha... i already did the magic and scraped the burnt part so he may not even notice. lol

Hahaha. Witty.

I told you, @kennyroy will eat it! Haha

Lol. That's <3 <3 <3

I am baking choco chips cookies but I havent tried baking oatmeal cookies. I'll have to try that one. thanks for sharing @arliinn ❤❤😊

Welcome @enjieneer! It's a nice alternative to our "classic" chocolate chip cookies 😉

I saw your post featured in the Daily Qurator. Oatmeal raisin cookies are one of my favorites, but I must say your chocolate oatmeal cookies look delicious too. I'm going to have to give them a try, they may become my new favorite oatmeal cookie.

Thanks @gregory-f! This one's a little sweet to my taste, I think because I used a sweetened cocoa. Next time I will omit the white sugar...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arrliinn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82