Baking Carrot-Mango Cake. A Weekend Special Treat

in #food6 years ago

Baking Time!

Well, it was a hectic week as usual and being sick also did not help. Friday being our rest day, I took the opportunity and slept the most of the day. I was so exhausted that just by setting my back on the bed would make me doze.

But hey, my kiddos would have to be fed so I have to get up and prepare something for them. In the morning when I woke up, I saw they already helped themselves for breakfast but of course I cannot let them be like that for lunch and dinner, LOL.

Scavenger Hunt in the Kitchen

I love to cook and though there are times when I go all out and buy all ingredients required in a recipe, I sometimes just settle for recipes which require only items that are already at hand.

I wanted to bake a carrot cake, I have never done so. I know we always have carrots in the fridge. I checked some recipes online and found that I have most of the ingredients in my kitchen so I went on to work.

Baking is a Remedy to my Tired Being

Not an exaggeration. I really love to bake. It destresses me and puts my thoughts away from life's anxieties. Best, I put my heart to it since I am doing it for the people I love.

If I were to have my own house, I would love to have a big kitchen. It could be larger than the living room. I would not mind. LOL. But for now, here in the UAE, I need to settle with the tiny kitchen of our studio apartment.

Successful Baking Attempt

They say baking requires precision or otherwise you will not get the desired output. Though I normally follow the measurements asked for my the recipe, I do not shy when making alterations and substitutions too.

When I said I will make a carrot cake, I later realized that I still have some ripe mangoes that were given to us by @abdoon (an Emirati steemian) so I thought of adding mangoes in the recipe.

The cake was fantastic!

I am not saying this because I was the one who baked it, but it was very soft and moist. The sweetness is just right and the taste blends well.

My kids love it and I am sure to make another one again soon.

The Recipe

If you would like to try, let me share the recipe that I followed to make this very tasty, moist carrot-mango cake!

  • 2 large carrots, grated (around 2 cups)
  • 1 small ripe mango, cubed
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 medium sized eggs ( I used 4 since native eggs are small)
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Most recipes I found online call for pecan nuts. I do not have them, and I don't think it really made a big difference.

For the Frosting:

  • 1 cup cream cheese
  • 1 cup confectioner's sugar
  • lemon zest

(Note: it will not be enough to cover the whole cake but it came out just fine for my taste. You may want to check this out for another frosting recipe.)

  1. Grease a 9" round baking pan and preheat oven at 200°C.
  2. In a large bowl, put together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon powder.
  3. Whisk together sugar, vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla then gradually add the dry ingredients.
  4. Fold in the grated carrots and mango cubes.
  5. Pour the mixture into the pan and bake for around 40-50 minutes. You will know that the cake is ready when you insert a toothpick in the middle and it comes out clean.
  6. Prepare the frosting by just whisking them together until creamy.
  7. Let the cake cool down in a rack before adding the frosting. I sliced the cake into two and added frosting in the middle and then the top.

Viola! My moist Carrot-Mango cake! Best served with brewed coffee. ☕ ❤️️



@divinekids sign of approval! 😍

All photos are mine, taken via my Samsung Galaxy Note 3.


20180516_002249_0001.png

banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing :D

You're welcome! 😉

Can we have some?

Hopefully soon! 😍

Awesome possum mama. Ako rin I like baking, it's something I enjoy. Yum, we like carrot cake too.

Another version is to add grated apples lalo if you don't have enough carrots. I tried it and it's perferctamunde. Moist and yummy.

Wow! Thanks for that tip! Will definitely give it a try. 😉

Hello Bhesssy :)

Congratulations @arrliin your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Loooks so Yum! I hope we can have a taste of this the next time we meet po.

Oo nga.. kelan ba yang next meet up na yan... 😅😁😀

Sagot ko na ang carrot cake sa bonding. 😉

Kailan ko kaya matitikman yan mommy😋😋😋

Soon sana duds. 😉

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 129 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I love baking with what's on hand and hoping it turns out well.

It usually does for me as well.

Hope you feel all better now.

I'm feeling a lot better today, thanks @metzli. 😍

I love baking too, I can't help myself. I plan on making some butter cookies tonight... yum.

This is really sweet! I love it... Nyahahah...

Oh my gosh! I could eat this for my breakfast with tea. Delicious!
I will pinned this for my future baking. Thank you for the recipe. Xx

Yes @sherylneil! It would be fantastic with tea.

I just had mine now with black coffee though.

Enjoy baking and let us know how it turns out! Happy Saturday.

OMG that is making my mouth water. Looks delicious!

Yes it is! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49