I'm back roasting another chook | Roast Lemon Chicken

in #food6 years ago

As per my last post, you'll know that I love to get into the kitchen to make some food. Recently I have been trying out a few ways to roast a chook in anticipation for the Christmas season approaching.

Here is another roast chicken recipe that I 'free wheeled' last night experimenting with ingredients I had on hand. This time around I went for citrus, rosemary and salt.

Instead of making an edible stuffing, I stuffed the chook for the purpose of flavouring the meat and retaining some internal moisture. To do this, I peeled the rind of a 1 lemon and inserted it into the cavity. I also inserted several sprigs of rosemary for flavour as well.

I then seasoned the chicken skin with salt and sprinkled rosemary over it. Then I juiced 1 whole lemon and drizzled around 1/3 of the juice over the skin.

I then roasted the chook for 1 1/2 hours in the oven at 180 degrees Celsius. Approximately every 30 minutes I took the roast out of the oven and drizzled more lemon juice over it to baste the meat. I gave it a little more salt as well each time.

Here are the results I achieved:

Edited Roast.jpg

The constant 'bathing' and seasoning of the meat as you roast it gives it a lovely flavour profile. It is almost as if you can taste 3 different levels of citrus and rosemary when you eat it.

The flavour of lemon + salt + rosemary works very nicely together and it's another way to vary my original recipe to change things up a bit.

Thanks for reading,

ApsisTrading

Sort:  

You got a 28.95% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @apsistrading! Release the Kraken!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 16.01% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25