This is Potentially The Worst Batch of Cookies Ever Baked - Warning - Don't Try These At Home!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

coconut cookies 008.JPG

My baking accidents start off innocently. I am on a modified paleo diet, and was wondering what to make for breakfast today, so decided to make crepes.

I put 2 cups of coconut flour in a bowl, but when I saw had no eggs, I looked at the coconut flour sitting in the bowl, and had a sudden impulse to bake coconut cookies. That is how the adventure began, or should I say - misadventure. This isn't a how-to, it's a how-to not.

coconut cookies 001.JPG

I added a few tablespoons of coconut oil to the flour.

coconut cookies 004.JPG

I poured in about a half cup of coconut milk.

coconut cookies 003.JPG

Then I dumped in some shredded coconut.

coconut cookies 005.JPG

Then I added a few tablespoons of honey to try and glue the cookies together, and some water for moisture.

coconut cookies 006.JPG

The cookie dough felt really flaky, like a dry pie crust, so I was hoping the heat of the oven might melt the cookies together.

But after 20 minutes at 350 degrees, they came out of the oven pretty much as dry and flaky as they went in, only hotter!

I added a few raisins on top to make them look pretty and dusted all the flaky crumbs off the plate. Well, not all of the crumbs, because if I touched the cookies they would explode.

coconut cookies 009.JPG

When my son started eating one I raced over to the sink and poured him a cup of water, because the cookies get stuck in your mouth and make you want to choke, as if you swallowed a half a cup of peanut butter and the roof of your mouth is stuck to your tongue.

As is sometimes the case, my baking can be used for a purpose it was not intended for, like hockey pucks. So when my son went to make some fruit smoothies, he threw some of the cookies in the blender. They were full of healthy ingredients and tasted good, so they tasted awesome as part of the fruit smoothie! I was glad that they weren't wasted.

I experiment all the time with adding different ingredients and amounts to my cooking and it tastes good, but baking has its' own set of rules and measurements and doesn't encourage experimentation. Believe me, that chocolate cake I once made with mint extract added still sticks in my mind as the worst tasting cake ever!

photos are my own.

Sort:  

Cheaper by the dozens. I sure do love cookies. Better luck next time. These photos make me so hungry. Thanks for sharing. This is awesome. This is great.

Thanks for reading and commenting! Makes me feel better!

Ill eat it.

You would need a drink in the other hand for safety purposes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48