Imagine a bag of wine biscuits gone in three days! I think I'm possessed by wine biscuits!

in #food7 years ago

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

I blame my childhood. My Italian grandmother lived next to a bakery that made bread, wine biscuits, pepper biscuits, and pizza strips to name a few. Oh and the torpedo rolls, god those rolls. I may be more possessed by them! ;)

Though I wouldn't trade for the world, the soft warm rolls, crunchy wine biscuits, and crunchy crust pizza topped with oily tomato sauce, I admit to being nearly powerless around them.

For now, here are my wine biscuit episode investigation results:
Mistake 1:

  • I hadn't eaten wine biscuits since the last time my mom baked them, which was probably a couple of years ago. I waited too long!

Mistake 2:

  • Buying an entire bag of wine biscuits is not good unless I want to be taken over by them!

I've eaten the last two this evening. Yay! They are gone!

My exorcism plan:

  • Have individual wrapped snack bars handy (I am not possessed by them)
  • Make some bummer bars (recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow's cook book It's All Good), a healthier snack bar that is very tasty
  • Do not buy a bag of wine biscuits. Go to a bakery and buy just a few!
  • And lastly, eat some of those favorite foods just a little more often so you are not possessively famished!
Sort:  

I have not heard of wine biscuits before this moment. Are they meant for eating alongside of wine? Or are they wine flavored biscuits - I am intrigued so please let me know. Thank you

Made with wine! They are delicious!

In Rhode Island, bakeries sell them to markets so you can buy them there!

Probably meant to have with a coffee. You can dunk them in it too and you may turn Italian at that point! LOL just joking. But you can dunk them in coffee!

And of course, I always say, you can have wine with anything, but that's just me! I LOVE wine! :))

Mostly flour, oil, and wine. If you need a recipe, let me know. I'll dig mine out and post on here!

I would love to see your recipe 😉

Here it is:
1 Cup wine
1 Cup Sugar
1 Cup Vegetable Oil
4 Cups of Flour
4-5 tsp. Baking powder

Okay, here goes my mother's directions! Very Italian:
Mix. Add more oil if you need it. Brush egg or egg white on top so they brown. Bake at 375 on cookie sheet for 15-20 minutes.

I am not kidding, my mother changes recipes like the wind. So I sometimes use her recipe as a base and google and see what everyone else has! lol... A lot of the older Italians change ingredient amounts according to the weather, humidity, or honestly, I think per what they had in the house! LOL

enjoy! Mama mia :))

Sounds very delicious and very tasty.I would like to try them one day.

They are awesome! They should have them in some bakeries or markets. But they are easy to make!

Needless to say, I won't be making them too soon as I devoured my bag of them. haha But I'll make some in the near future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35