SUSA´S FILLOAS

in #food6 years ago

filloas-de-leche-gallegas.jpg
Source


Before I start talking about this delicious recipe, I must explain to you, my dear readers, two small but important details that make Filloas a very special dish for me.

The first question is about the name you read in our title today: Susa

Who is she?

She is my mother, the grandmother of my two beautiful children, who has a special hand for food. Her recipes are simple but with a seasoning and technique difficult to copy. Her dishes are all genuinely wonderful. And do you know why? Because when you taste the food you can taste the love she has for her family, the dedication and passion she feels while cooking each dish. For that reason, today I wanted to bring a classic of the carnival dish from my house… "Filloas".

What are the Filloas?

They are a kind of crepes but a little thinner. They are made with the water of the stew or with the blood of the pig.
My experience with this dish goes back to my childhood. I grew up eating them, it is a tradition that has always been carried out, and still is, in Galicia, Spain. Especially for occasions like holidays and Carnival festivities. The first day of the goal is February 2nd (San Blas Day) and then the next Saturday and the following Tuesday of the Carnival. This festival is known in Galicia as "O Antroido".

I had the opportunity to ask my mother some questions before she gave me her secrets about this delicious recipe. She shared that when she was 12 years old; she started cooking them in her house, where she lived with my grandparents and her 8 siblings. Can you imagine? She was a child when she began to make this dish for all the members of her family. It takes hours to do this dish for a big group of people, and two to three pans may be necessary to be used at the same time.

My mother took the recipe and the tradition to Venezuela, and although there were people who knew how to do it, they never managed to match the quality and technique she had. Susa always ended up making the Filloas for everyone else; even to be sold in small parties. She also added that one day the restaurant of the Club Campestre of La Hermandad Gallega, asked her to make so many Filloas that it was calculated that she spent up to 26 kilos of flour. 26! I cannot tell you exactly how many come out of each kilo but I can assure you that it is a large number of Filloas.

The carnivals of this year, I will not have the joy of eating my mom’s Filloas. The destiny and the harsh situation of our country, Venezuela, have taken us by separate paths for the moment. So I take this post to remember them and make a tribute to the wonderful cuisine of Susa. My mom’s cuisine.

Thanks for reading the story ... now let's cook!


Susa´s Filloas


Ingredients:

• 1 liter of water stew
• 1 liter of water
• 1 kilogram of flour
• Salt (to taste since the water of the stew already has salt)
• 6 eggs


Process:

We mix the two waters, it is important to emphasize, that the amount of water can vary, it will be seen at the end of mixing, and it will depend on the flour and the size of the eggs. Add the eggs, beat and finish with the flour (I recommend beating it with a hand mixer, there must be a uniform mixture, which is neither thick nor very liquid). Let it stand for 30 minutes (covered).

Prepare a frying pan, it is recommended that we ensure that this is non-stick, so that the Filloas do not stick to us.

On the other hand, we take a piece of bacon that we will have punctured with a fork, and a small dish with oil, there we will wet the bacon and with this we spread the whole hot pan, this also helps to not stick our Filloas and it gives them an incredible flavor.

And now, we anoint the pan with the bacon, which should be hot (not too much), and we toss the mixture that we had prepared, not too much so that they do not remain thick, the best Filloas are the ones that are soft and thin. My mom's technique is to grab the pan and pour the mixture while you move it, so that the mixture goes through everything. After the first Filloas, one is going to plow the exact amount you need.

filloas (1).jpg

Source

Now we only have to enjoy our Filloas, you can eat them with whatever you want; salty, or you can have them with sugar, honey, chocolate and enjoy them as dessert, they are exquisite in any way.

As a last anecdote I wanted to upload a picture of the Filloas that my mother made this Saturday for Carnival. My son was in charge of taking it and sending it to me, but when he came home from work, his grandmother's plate of Filloas was already empty, and he told me: "Mom there was nothing left, not even for me". With this you will have an idea of ​​how good Susa’s Filloas are.

I hope you have liked and are encouraged to make and share this recipe

See you!!

Spanish version

Sort:  

Muy bien, otra de tus recetas que me gustaría probar ya voté saludos

Gracias!!! prontito una nueva muy rica tambien!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56