👾 WILD FERMENTATION SERIES | How To Make Fizzy Kombucha Tea (+ why you should have a glass every day) 👾

in #food7 years ago

kombucha-tea-10.jpg

Touted as the “Immortal Health Elixir” by the ancient Chinese, kombucha has been around for more than 2,000 years. Though this incredible fermented drink has been well-known as a digestive aid, it can do so much more such as protecting our heart and brain.


Did you know that 80 percent of your immune system is located in the gut with the digestive system being the second largest part of your neurological system? Therefore our gut is often referred to as the “second brain.”

kombucha-tea-12.jpg

Why You Should Have a Glass of Kombucha Every Day


Kombucha houses a large number of health-promoting friendly bacteria aka probiotics. We often fear bacteria as we associate them with disease. But you should not fear these little ones though.

Friendly gut bacteria line the digestive tract and support the immune system. They absorb nutrients and fight infections and disease.

Drinking one glass of kombucha every day can help you keep the immune system working at its full capacity which brings a host of other benefits to your overall health.

Nutritional value of kombucha


Kombucha is fermented sweet tea. Since it is made with sugar people often think it is unhealthy and high in calories. But the opposite is true. During the fermentation process, the bacteria use up most of the sugar to turn the tea into a beautiful, probiotic-rich tangy drink.

Though the nutritional value may differ between brands and homebrews, a 500 ml or 16-ounce bottle of unpasteurized (pasteurization kills the bacteria), organic kombucha contains 60 calories, 20mg sodium, 14g carbs, and 4g sugar. Furthermore, it also contains 25% of the daily value of folate and 20% B1, B2, B3, B6, and B12.

Making it an ideal drink for vegans and vegetarians to help keep their B12 in check, as this is a common nutrient deficiency.

kombucha-tea-9.jpg

How To Brew Your Own Kombucha Tea At Home


Kombucha is nothing more than fermented sugar tea. Although it’s usually made with black tea, kombucha can also be made with green teas. I love a mix of both. Up to you to experiment and brew one you like most.

To ferment the tea you need what they call a “SCOBY” (symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast). If you missed my previous post on how to make this from scratch. Click the link below, because it is impossible to make kombucha without this alien looking disc who some refer to as a kombucha mushroom.

WILD FERMENTATION SERIES | 👾 How To Make A Kombucha Scoby From Scratch 👾

scoby-11.jpg

Kombucha Tea Recipe


The recipe below makes about 8 cups or 1.9 liters. If you don’t have a big enough jar you will need two scobies. One for each jar.

Since we don’t have convenience stores where we live I had to help myself with the recycled jars I had at home. At first, I started out with 2 scobies one in a jar of 1 liter or 4 cups and one of 0.5 liter or 2 cups. By now I have doubled the amount as that’s about the amount we drink before the next batch is ready again.

Since we live in a tropical hot climate fermentation goes fast here. After 5 to 7 days we have our fizzy kombucha but if you live in a colder climate it might take 9 or maybe 12 days.

Though I like my kombucha as it is you could also infuse it with fresh fruit juices, herbs and spices. Ginger and lemongrass are two that work very well.

kombucha-tea-3.jpg

Ingredients


  • 7 cups water
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (white or raw sugar. Do not use sugar substitutes such as honey or maple syrup)
  • 4 bags black tea or 2 tablespoons loose leaf tea (I use 2 bags black tea and 2 tbsp Cambodian green jasmine tea)
  • 1 cup starter tea from your previous batch (the lactic acid present in the tea will create a selective environment where the friendly bacteria thrive and others are disencouraged to grow)
  • 1 scoby per jar (I used 2)

kombucha-tea-1.jpg

Directions


  1. Bring water to a boil and stir in the sugar until dissolved. Add the black tea and steep the tea for 10-20 minutes. Allow to cool completely.
  2. When cooled, stir in the starter tea, mix well and pour the sweet tea into a jar(s).
  3. Place the scoby in the jar. Cover with a rubber band and coffee filter or clean cloth. No worries if the scoby doesn’t seal of the jar or decides to lay sideways or on the bottom, a new scoby film will start to grow at the top to seal the tea from the air and unwanted intruders.
  4. If this is your first batch, taste the tea so you know what you started with. After a few days (4-5) do a taste test. If it isn't sweet anymore and to your preferred tanginess level it’s time to get some fizz into the kombucha and flavor it with fruit juice, herbs, or spices if you like. Like said I like my black tea and jasmine green tea mix. If you ferment too long it will be too acidic and start to taste like vinegar.
  5. To carbonate the drink or create some fizz, pour the tea in a clean bottle with a lid and allow the fizz to build up. If using a glass bottle be careful that the build-up isn’t too strong as it may explode. That’s why most people like to use a plastic bottle as you can squeeze the bottle and feel it harden as the fizz builds up. If there is too much pressure release the cap or lid and let it burb to release.
    IMPORTANT: MAKE SURE TO KEEP A CUP OF THE FERMENTED TEA TO START YOUR NEXT BATCH AND TURN THIS INTO A CONTINUOUS SYSTEM
  6. Once the bottles are hard and you have the desired amount of fizz, store the bottle in the fridge to stop the fermentation and carbonation process.

kombucha-tea-2.jpg

kombucha-tea-7.jpg

kombucha-tea-5.jpg

kombucha-tea-6.jpg

kombucha-tea-11.jpg

Happy fermenting my dear friends ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

Sort:  

Need to try this tea as it contains so many vitamins....thanks for sharing it's benefits

You sure have to give it a go. It's so easy once you have a continuous system... Thanks for stopping by ;)

:)

I remember when I was a child (Venezuela) my mother once prepared that drink with the mushroom on top. I tastesdlike mildly acidic and tart pineapple juice. It was delicious, and the fact that the thing could go practically forever amazed me. I don't know whay they stopped preparing that stuff.

You should give it a try. It super easy to make, delcious and so good for you! Have a great day my friend!

Thanks for sharing i will done upvote I always see your post. And follow you

Thanks my friend for the support.

I've always heard of the stuff but never actually tried it. Thanks for all the directions, I'll definitely be trying this out soon! <3

That's great to hear. It's easy and so delcious. Good luck with it and let me know how it worked out.

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! This post has been added to the Sotall.org Directory of Self Sufficiency & Survival posts. One of our goals is to provide access to the knowledge of our fellow Steamians, that will still be seen, long after the 7 day period is passed. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Thank you so much. I'll check the website out. Starting homesteader so looking forward to seeing what others are doing!

That is quite a process Amy, but I am pining this to my Pinterest board for later. By the way, is it okay to use raw coconut sugar?

It super easy. Was a bit confused the first time I made a scoby but almost nothing can go wrong here. I have used raw cane sugar before and it worked too. Might take a little longer. If you try it with coconut sugar let me know I how it went. Always interested to hear about fermentation experiments.

Thank you Amy, I will for sure 🌸💖🌸

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 02:31:01
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 530.24/800.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I added a little honey to mine, do you think it will turn it bad?

Nope. honey is a natural preservative so you should be fine.

Thank you! I am saving this post. I got my husband to try kombucha and he likes it so I want to make some. I am going to look at your recipe for making the scoby. I am excited. I think this will get me off the soda. I quit soda for 5 years and then had one soda one day last year and now I am drinking that awful stuff again. I don't drink much but I want to totally eliminate it from my intake. I am ready!

So much better than soda. Btw we make sodas at home too using a ginger bug, sometimes we add turmeric too. Just started one. I'll make a post about it later. Variety is always a good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50