Superfood Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast BarssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago


Last few days in Belgium before I head back home! It has been a crazy but freezing ride. It was so much fun though to meet up with family and friends after nearly two years! But I'm happy to go back to the tropical climate and my loving hubby @menta and my kitty cat Chivas who I both missed soooo much!

And the best part.. my bag is packed with 30kg (or 60 pounds) of goodies I can not find in Cambodia. So expect some amazing recipes shortly.

However, I say recipes while I just realized that most of the kilos are bottles of yummy red wine, which are grapes and kinda healthy too ;-)

But let's talk healthy breakfast bars now. I made these for breakfast this morning and are mommy approved. Daddy still has to try them out as he had to go to work!

I used blueberries because in 3 days I'm going to have to miss my fresh berries again for a while, but other fruits work too.

These oatmeal bars are soft and chewy and packed with all the energy and nutrients to start your day fully energized. Or why not eat them as a healthy mid-morning or afternoon snack!

Ingredients (makes a 9x9 inch pan, or about 8-10 oatmeal bars)

Oatmeal bar base

  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup raw unsalted cashew nuts or slivered almonds
  • 4 tbsps honey or maple syrup
  • 1 tbsps extra virgin coconut oil
  • 0.5 - 1 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon, or to taste
  • 2 bananas
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla

Topping

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup mixed nuts (or the nuts you like most)
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds (pumpkin seeds are delicious too)
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or any other milk of your choice)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions

Base:

  1. Preheat oven to 175°C or 350°F.
  2. In a blender or food processor, combine all base ingredients. Process until well combined. This may take a few minutes, depending on the strength of your blender/food processor.

  3. Line a 9 x 9 baking pan with parchment paper. Lightly grease with a little coconut oil. (I used 2 smaller ones as I couldn’t find a 9 x 9-inch pan in my mom's kitchen)
  4. Pour the base mixture into the pan and smooth it out with a spoon or spatula. Bake the base for 10 minutes.

Topping

  1. Meanwhile, combine all topping ingredients in a bowl and stir well to combine.

  2. When the base is ready, remove from the oven and spread topping evenly over the base. Press the mixture lightly down into base. Bake an additional 20 minutes or until the oats are slightly crisp.
  3. Delicious when still hot or can be served cold too. Oatmeal bars can be stored in the fridge in a sealed container for up to one week.

Enjoy!


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.60 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

OMG, I love blueberries. They are now in season here so they're just amazing right now! Thanks for sharing, I will try this.

Ohh lucky you! I'm gonna miss them so much! Think I'm gonna have to try and grow my own in Cambodia!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51