Smoothie Of The Day: Tulsi or Holy Basil Tropical Bliss

in #food7 years ago (edited)

DSCF4174-1.jpg

Also known as holy basil or Ocimum sanctum, Tulsi is the more common name in most Indian and SE-Asian households. This herb is easy to grow. Not only is Tulsi a revered, holy plant in Hinduism, it also finds its place in the ancient healing practice of Ayurveda.

Tulsi's benefits range from warding off some of the most common ailments (flu, common cold, etc), strengthening the immune system, fighting bacterial and viral infections to combating and treating various hair and skin disorders. The only thing you need is a few leaves of tulsi! And they taste great!

Ingredients (serves 3)

1/2 - 1 cup holy basil or Tulsi
1 carrot
Fresh turmeric to taste
3 passionfruit
1 banana
1 cup papaya
1 cup pineapple
1 mango
1-2 tbsp unsalted peanut butter
3 cups water

Directions

  1. Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth.
  2. Optional: Top with superfoods such as chia seeds, goji berries or hemp hearts if you like

DSCF4175-1.jpg

Happy blending ღ ღ ღ


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Did you ever try any juice with the basil seeds ? Just the seeds.
That tastes great as well and it's very nutritious.
Looks gross though :P

Love the recipe!
I will probably skip the passionfruit because that's difficult to find here :)
Let me know if there is an alternative fruit for that :)

Never tried basil seeds! Thanks for the tip! Hmm, a substitute for passion fruit... that's a hard one! Not sure actually... any other fruit I would say 'cause nothing comes quite close to its taste. hehe. Have a great day ;)

It looks tempting. I like fruit, too,

Thanks @king1527! Fruits are the best!

Amy I wanted to let you know your smoothies are helping me a lot through my ending of pregnancy ! You're the best :D

Ohh that's great to hear! When is the due date? Exciting times. Congrats ;)

End of August and thank you (:

It sounds like a great herb, would love to grow some in my herb garden. I have such a going collection, and I use them daily in recipes. Does it taste like any other herb? Love that smoothie recipe.

Thanks @healthyrecipe! Not sure if I can compare it to something else I have ever eaten. You are gonna have to try it! It is quite easy to grow too.

I need to order some lemon basil to plant so now I will get this one also. I swear pretty soon my entire garden is going to be all herbs lol. But they are soooo good.

I love plants in the garden that you can eat... and the herbs make your garden smells nice too!

Oh yes, I currently have like 10 papaya trees along the fence, 4 avocado trees, 2 mango, 2 cashew, 1 soursop, 1 lime, 2 bitter orange, lemon grass, basil, marjoram, oregano, mint, parsley, broad leaf cilantro or Culantro as we call it in Cuba, Cilantro seems to be very fragile and seasonal. Ginger seems to be catching on this year. I do a lot of fermenting too and sauces.

That looks good! I might need to try this, thanks for sharing!

My pleasure! It was yummy indeed.

Great. Thanks. I love to eat fruits. This is so incredible. It rejuvenates us unlike anything else. It makes us feel like children. It is very special. We love you. Keep up the good work.

Aww thanks @joeyarnoldvn ღ ღ ღ

holy basil is an awesome herb!

It sure is and so easy to grow.

Now I want to get my hands on some tulsi to see what it's all about! I wonder if my Asian grocery store carries it...will report back.

If you can find it fresh, they often sell it as dried tea leaves too! Not bad either!

Ooh good call- does it taste like common basil or even Thai basil?

Not really! Not sure how to describe it! You are going to have to try it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39