One-pot Mexican Quinoa Topped With Parsley Cashew Sour Cream

in #food7 years ago (edited)

One-pot-mexican-quinoa-4.jpg

Quick, easy, healthy, super delicious and 100% plant-based. What else does a weeknight dinner need? From start to finish this yummy dish was ready in 30 minutes. And that cashew parsley sour cream was just to die for. If you haven't tried cashew cream with nutritional yeast yet, then I invite you to my home to come and try it!

Everybody should know this little yummy kitchen secret. I could eat it with every dish. Seriously. And the best part, you can add any herb or spice you like and make it a little different every time. While I would have loved using cilantro for this recipe, my hubby thinks it tastes like soap and ruins his food... love goes through the stomach they always say so no cilantro in my version :( But lots of love afterward as it was all happy bellies around my table.

Doesn't that just put a smile on your face? For me it always does. Nothing better than happy faces coming from the people you love!

But let's get on with the recipe!

Ingredients

For the quinoa

1 cup chopped onion
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 cups chopped bell pepper, I used a mix of yellow and green
1 cup chopped zucchini
2 cups chopped tomatoes
Vegetable stock or water as needed (if using water you might need to add more herbs, salt, and pepper to increase the flavor)
3/4 cup quinoa, I used tricolor
1.5 cup cooked kidney beans
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2-1 tsp chili powder or use chili paste instead
Salt and black pepper to taste
1 small avocado cubed

For the cashew sauce

1/2 cup soaked cashews (soak for at least one hour, overnight is best)
1 cup fresh parsley
1 lime, juice only
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
Salt and black pepper to taste

One-pot-mexican-quinoa-2.jpg

Directions

  1. Heat cooking oil over medium to medium-high. Sauté onion for 3 to 5 minutes or until softened. Stir in garlic, zucchini, bell pepper, cumin and chili powder and cook for one minute more.
  2. Then add the quinoa, tomatoes, vegetable stock, and kidney beans. Bring to a gentle boil, cover and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes or until the liquid has soaked into the quinoa.
  3. Meanwhile, add all cashew sauce ingredients to a blender and process until sour cream consistency. Set aside in the fridge.
  4. Remove from heat, and top with avocado and cashew sour cream.

One-pot-mexican-quinoa-1.jpg

One-pot-mexican-quinoa-3.jpg

Bon Appétit

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Another yummylicious plant based dish from the great @amy-goodrich!
The contrast of hot and cold must be really very amazing, love it!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thanks @progressivechef! We love the cashew cream. It actually tastes so much better than sour cream.

Which part of it makes it Mexican? Probably the tomato.... or the onion... maybe the avocado???

Beans, avocado, cumin, bell peppers, and chili are all flavors that remind me of the Mexican cuisine.

yummyyyy thanks for telling ingredients and recipe and procedure :) btw will u make one for me ? pls :p

Sure. I love sharing my food! Thanks for stopping by!

Yum! I love Mexican so much! Nutritional yeast is everything to me! I love my cheeze so it's a must have around here! I want to eat this right now, it looks great =D

Hehe! Same here! But running low. Need to stock up when we go to Europe.

The sauce looks like you added avocado too. The dish looks really tasty and nutritious. Enjoy!

I know! So strange but there is no avocado in there! The color comes from the parsley.

What can be better than a healthy delicious 30 minute dish , love it . Enjoy the rest of your night :)

You too have a great day gorgeous ;). Although it is still early morning for you if I'm correct!

Yes it's 7:45 :D

wow, good mexican yummy..you are indeed jack of all trades!!!! and master of alllllllllllllllllllllll
Keep it up

Thanks @charles1! Traveling to all parts of the world has had so many influence on my cooking. have a great day!

You are welcome, keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83