No-Cook 5-minute Blueberry Chia Seed Jam For The Best Morning Toast Ever (NO Sugar, No Gelatin)

in #food7 years ago

U5dtPgynr7DaJ1tQfHbgiWv8tTLrQ1D_1680x8400.jpg

Be amazed by this simple recipe that will change your peanut butter and jelly toast forever. Let me tell you my gorgeous steemit friends, peanut butter and jelly toasts or rolls, while super yum, they are a SUGAR BOMB! Whether you know it or not, sugar is bad news for your health.

For years saturated fats have been blamed for being the driving factor behind obesity, diabetes and heart disease. Though the majority of people changed from real butter and coconut oil to overly-processed, toxic vegetable oils and margarine... and to no surprise, nothing changed. In fact, obesity, heart attacks, and diabetes numbers have gone through the roof.

So maybe we should reevaluate our sugar use.... and if you are a jam lover, chia seed jams may be just the thing you need. Thanks to the jelly-fying properties of the chia seeds when they come in contact with water, making jam has never been easier.

Blend it! Chill it! Eat it!

Simple as that. And it has no sugar or gelatin... just fruits, nutrient-dense chia seeds and a little maple syrup or honey if you want.

Ingredients

1 cup your favorite fruit fresh or frozen
1-2 tablespoons maple syrup agave syrup or raw honey (optional)
1 tablespoon water warm
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or other flavor makers such as cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, etc.

FYI: adding dates works to sweeten thing up without using sugar.

U5dtt4uLNKJX4gAeQKy59rnoHNUHiCh_1680x8400.jpg

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl or use a food processor instead. mix/blend until homogeneous.
  2. Cover and place in the fridge for at least 1 hour to let the chia seed do their magic and turn the fruits into a nice jam or jelly.

U5dtjqyrb6xrez5orHCawQA7QhEeHLA_1680x8400.jpg

U5dsxnvm5UrzCUvvrnZ6DaPoRmTSJHm_1680x8400.jpg

U5dtPgynr7DaJ1tQfHbgiWv8tTLrQ1D_1680x8400.jpg

Though chia seed jam doesn't keep longer than a week, or maybe two, in the fridge they are so easy to make and you can actually use any fruit you like. That's why we make small batches and switch the fruits every time. Other flavor combos I like are raspberry-vanilla, kiwifruit-strawberry, and apple-cinnamon.

Have a great summer week!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

i like it

Looks pretty tasty

Ahh soo this is what you were talking about! Looks delicious, thanks for sharing!

Since it is so good and you reminded me of the blueberry jam I just needed to share this with everybody! Thanks for your comment and ongoing support ;)

Love to have chia seed in the morning with fruit! Never thought to make jame with it. Thanks for the idea @amy-goodrich!

My pleasure. I hope you like it as much as we do.

BRB Grocery store. Gotta make some of this.

Hehe! Enjoy ;)

It sounds like it would be good! I am spoiled by all the tropical jams and jellies over here.

Give it a go. I'm sure you won't regret it. Lovely with mango too.

Wow. I love chia, but never thought to make jam. Great idea
Thanks.

Enjoy ;) One of my fav chia seed uses. Next to chia pudding. Just love that stuff.

Chocolate chia pudding is my favorite!

I'm sure that You're a good chef and photographer..

Aww thanks my friend ;)

This is such a great idea! Thanks for making my jam healthier!

My pleasure @jaymorebeet! And thank you for the support and being your amazing self! have a great day!

What a great idea! I got some chia seeds 6 months ago and tried a few recipes with them and they weren't delicious enough to repeat. So I've been gearing up to try something more promising with them. I love the idea of a jam without oodles of sugar. I'll bet I could stir some of this up into a parfait or something...

You can even eat it straight from the jar hehe. We love chia jams. Have you tried chia puddings with the fruit mixed in the pudding yet? Love those too.

What's the base ingredient for the chia puddings? Milk?

Yep! You can use any milk and mixed fruits. I love coconut or almond milk,


I finally made a batch a few days ago. It's delicious and I've been mixing it in with Greek yogurt for breakfast and late night snacks. Thanks again for the recipe!

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you like it too! We love chia jams. They taste so much better than the sugar laden jams, right? Have a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71