HOME FERMENTATION | HOW TO MAKE CULTURED COCONUT YOGURT (+ TROPICAL COCONUT YOGURT BOWL)🌴 🥥 🌱

in #food6 years ago (edited)

coconut yogurt-2.jpg

Good morning steemit. Though I will have a green smoothie later this day, this morning I felt like I needed something more so I made this yummy coconut yogurt fruit bowl to get me started.

Have you ever tried making your own cultured, probiotic-rich coconut yogurt? If not, I'll quickly show you how to do this. It's super easy. No need for fancy equipment. A jar and oven light or thermos will do the trick.

Homemade Cultured Coconut Yogurt


homemade-cultured-yogurt-8.jpg

  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk/cream (BPA-free)
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (optional, for a thicker consistency)
  • Yogurt starter

Yogurt starter options

  • 2 probiotic capsules
    OR
  • 1 tsp probiotic powder (around 50 billion units)
    OR
  • 1/4 cup coconut kefir or coconut yogurt from your previous batch

CLICK HERE for more info about probiotics.

Directions


  1. For a thicker yogurt, use coconut cream instead of coconut milk. Refrigerate the cans for a few hours so the cream rises to the top. Only use the thick cream to make the yogurt and use the coconut water in the bottom of the can make a delicious coconut flavored smoothie. If you don’t mind a runny yogurt use everything. Cream, and water. Or use unsweetened coconut milk instead.
    FYI: homemade coconut milk can be used but you will have a very runny yogurt. We always use a can as we like a thicker consistency.
  2. Combine the coconut cream, yogurt starter (if using capsules, open them up and add the content to the cream), and maple syrup (if using) to the clean jar (washed with hot water, no need to sterilize). Mix well with a metal or plastic spoon.
  3. Then there are three options you could use to make the yogurt. If you have a yogurt maker you can use that. For people who don't have one, they are quite cheap but not needed to make yogurt. You can just put the jar (with the lid loosely screwed on) in the oven with the light on. Place the jar as close as possible to the light. The light of the oven will generate enough heat to make the yogurt. Do not turn your oven on. Do not screw the lid on too tight. Air needs to be able to go in there. Cheesecloth or a coffee filter and a rubber band work too. If your oven doesn't have a light or you don't own a yogurt maker, heat the coconut cream to 40C or 104F. Add the yogurt starter and mix well. Pour in a thermos to incubate. Regularly open the thermos to let it brb and breathe.
  4. Leave the yogurt for 24 to 48 hours; This will depend on your climate and how sour you like your yogurt. The longer you incubate, the more it will thicken. The yogurt can still be a little runny but will further thicken in the fridge.
  5. Refrigerate for up to a week or more and don’t forget to save ¼ cup to make your next batch.

See super easy, right?


TROPICAL COCONUT YOGURT BOWL


coconut yogurt-1.jpg

  • Coconut yogurt
  • Pink dragon fruit or pitaya
  • Banana
  • Coconut flakes
  • Goji Berries

Add fruits to a bowl, top with yogurt, goji berries, and coconut flakes. Or use other toppings of your liking!

coconut yogurt-3.jpg

WISHING YOU A HAPPY AND HEALTHY WEEKEND!


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

20-MIN DINNER | TURMERIC-INFUSED FRIED QUINOA WITH PINEAPPLE
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | TROPICAL MORINGA MORNING BLISS
30-MIN VEGAN DINNER | TOASTED QUINOA WITH AVOCADO, RED BEET AND ORANGE MUSTARD DRESSING
WILD FERMENTATIONS | HOMEMADE KIMCHI - A KOREAN PROBIOTIC WONDER
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | BULLETPROOF SMOOTHIE TO BOOST BRAINPOWER AND CURB THE APPETITE )
30-MIN VEGAN DINNER | CRISPY TURMERIC COCONUT CAULIFLOWER TACOS WITH BELL PEPPER SAUCE AND SWEET AND SOUR COLESLAW


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-16T02:29:21
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1263.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 148
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a wonderful breakfast. I love making my own yogurt, it is so much better than anything you can buy right? The pink dragon fruit looks amazing, I don't think we have anything like that here. Enjoy!

Any in-season fruit will do. I bet you have some amazing berries right now, isn't it? Miss them so much. And I am totally with you.... homemade is the way to go!

Coconut yogurt and dragon fruit? Sounds amazing!! I haven't had either. Dragon fruit actually grow extremely well here in Arizona, but I don't have the room for them yet. haha Great photos and recipe! :)

Thanks my friend. A common fruit here in Cambodia too. They do take up some space that's true. Although I have seen small cacti bearing the fruit too. Well, I think it's a cactus. Not sure though. Have a lovely week.

Yes I believe they are considered part of the cacti family. They do take up tons of space and you don't get very fruit for that amount of space. but they look awesome! lol You too have an amazing week!

I love coconut and yogurt. I will need to try to combine them. Thanks. Magical. Delicious. Good to the last drop.

Thanks. Wish I could send you a bowl.

Amazing! I never knew it was that simple. I must try because all the commercial coconut yoghurts are so surgery. Thank you @amy-goodrich for another fantastic recipe.

My pleasure. I hope you give it a go. So good and like you mentioned all the commercial stuff is so sweet and full of chemicals. Nothing beats homemade right?

Do you have to put it next to an oven light? Would any light do?
I live with 17 people and someone whould probably turn the oven on by accident :L

I never tried but I don't think it will be quite the same as the oven keeps in the heat of the lamp. I reckon if you make a box around the lamp you could create the same effect. Let me know if you ever try it ;)

Wow! Good job!!! 😍
I still can't get to make my coconut yogurt.. ;)

Thanks. It's super easy. I hope you try it one day.

I always wanted to try this, I just have to buy that probiotic !!! Great Amy!! Thanks for the inspo!

My pleasure. You could also use a storebought cultured coconut yogurt (or any other dairy-free yogurt with live bacteria) as a starter. Good luck ;)

That is a great idea Amy!!

Did you start a business in Kep, isn't it?
If not, you should definitively do. At least of the cultured yogurt!
I'll be in Kep for a wedding on 22 and 23 June, let's try to meet :)

I'll keep that in mind. Kep is on the radar. For now, our business is in Kampot. Would be nice to meet up. Let's keep in touch!

Pretty cool to make your own yogurt - will definitely try that some day 😉

Easy and yum. Have a great day! Finally some sun here after all the tropical rains from the past few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45