HEALTHY VEGAN TREAT | RAW CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BARS FOR THE WORLD CUP ⚽️🍮 🌱

in #food6 years ago

chocolate-caramel-bar-10.jpg

Any of you watching the World Cup today? Belgium is playing!!! Though I'm usually not a huge fan of football, aka soccer, I love the World Cup. Such a lovely buzz it creates.

Four years ago the world cup was held just before we left Belgium for to come and live here in Cambodia. Since Belgium did really well, our little country went crazy. And this time it looks very promising again. Just as last time we are planning on watching a few games with friends. Always fun! And this time it will be even more fun as we are surrounded by so many friends of different nationalities.

Today Belgium kicks off its first match at 10 pm and we are all going to our neighbor who installed a big screen in his garden. It's gonna be so much fun and I promised to make something sweet for everybody.

I am going to surprise them with this healthy treat. Football doesn't need to be junk food, right?

I already pre-tasted these bars earlier and I must say.....

THE BEST RAW VEGAN DESSERT I HAVE EVER MADE!!!!


chocolate-caramel-bar-9.jpg

I'm also taking some homemade kombucha and turmeric ginger ale. YUM!

Let's hope I can impress my friends and neighbors with this lovey treat too. As I said football doesn't necessarily needs to go hand in hand with junk food and beers. At least that is what I am gonning to prove them tonight!

RAW CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BARS FOR THE WORLD CUP


chocolate-caramel-bar-12.jpg

INGREDIENTS


For the base


  • ½ cup unsalted raw almonds
  • ¼ cup raw unsalted peanuts
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 T shredded coconut
  • 1 T coconut cream
  • ¼ cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 6 dates, pitted

chocolate-caramel-bar-1.jpg

For the caramel layer


  • 1¼ cup dates, pitted
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3-4 T water
  • 1 t cinnamon powder
  • ¼ t sea salt

chocolate-caramel-bar-3.jpg

For the chocolate layer


  • ¼ to ⅓ cup extra virgin coconut oil
  • ¼ to ⅓ cup raw cacao powder
  • 3-4 T maple syrup

chocolate-caramel-bar-6.jpg

DIRECTIONS


For the base


  1. Add all ingredients to a food processor or blender and pulse until the dough comes together. If it is
  2. Line a 9×9-inch pan (or any other pan you have) with plastic foil or baking paper. Press the base firmly into the pan. Place in the freezer to harden while you make the other layers.

chocolate-caramel-bar-2.jpg

For the caramel layer


  1. Combine all the caramel ingredients in a food processor or blender. Pulse/blend until a smooth caramel forms. Scrape down the sides often to push everything back into the blades for a smooth consistency. Add more water if needed to create a smooth, spreadable paste.
  2. Take the base out of the freezer and spread the caramel evenly on top of the almond base and return to the freezer while making the chocolate sauce.

chocolate-caramel-bar-4.jpg

chocolate-caramel-bar-5.jpg

For the chocolate sauce


  1. I live in the tropics so coconut oil is liquid over here. If you live in a colder climate, melt the coconut oil first.
  2. Whisk together the coconut oil, cacao, and maple syrup. Pour over the caramel layer and put the pan in the fridge this time.

chocolate-caramel-bar-7.jpg

chocolate-caramel-bar-8.jpg

Let sit for a few hours. Slice in squares and serve!

chocolate-caramel-bar-11.jpg

chocolate-caramel-bar-13.jpg

ENJOY!!!!!


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

#FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY | LENTIL QUINOA VEGAN MEATBALLS WITH SPIRALIZED SWEET POTATO AND "PARMESAN CHEESE"
HOME FERMENTATION | HOW TO MAKE CULTURED COCONUT YOGURT (+ TROPICAL COCONUT YOGURT BOWL)
20-MIN DINNER | TURMERIC-INFUSED FRIED QUINOA WITH PINEAPPLE
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | TROPICAL MORINGA MORNING BLISS
30-MIN VEGAN DINNER | TOASTED QUINOA WITH AVOCADO, RED BEET AND ORANGE MUSTARD DRESSING
WILD FERMENTATIONS | HOMEMADE KIMCHI - A KOREAN PROBIOTIC WONDER


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

Looks AMAZING !!!
Congratulations for Belgium! I know what you mean ... in Poland during the World Cup is a total madness. The first match Poland play tomorrow with Senegal ;)

Thanks. Cambodia is pretty quiet but all the expats are turning this little town into madness. Just love the atmosphere it creates. Too bad Poland lost. Let's hope they do better next match. Thanks for stopping by ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T12:05:21
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1276.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 150
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

For such a busy woman, you are still cranking out plenty of amazing recipes! They always look fantastic, and this is no exception. I enjoy following the World Cup since I have so many friends from other countries. Makes it fun when there are little rivalries. We just spent the weekend with my boyfriend's Polish family, so of course I have to cheer for those guys tomorrow when they play. Enjoy!

Hehe. Same here. Loving the buzz it creates among the expats. Enjoy. Wish I had more time to cook, but hey we can't have it all. I was already pleasantly surprised that everybody loved my sweet treat. Always fun when you can introduce vegan food to others.

Wow, these look incredible - please can you send some over to me in London?

On their way hehe. Wish food teleportation already existed. Give t a few more years.

Enjoy the game today and the more to come. Also a big fan of footy. Most beautiful game in the world. I'm sure your friends will be pleasantly surprised with these delicious treats. Win or lose, I'd be happy with a bite!

Thanks. We won and they all loved the sweets I made. Win win ;) Enjoy the rest of the world cup!

Win win indeed! Thanks you too :)

your vegan food looks fantastic

Thanks my friend!

Gee, this looks amazing Amy! I am going to have to try this...the carmel center sounds yummy. How do you find any time right now to cook at home? You are a wonder woman! Great recipe! Enjoy World Cup!

During my day off hehe. When food is a passion you make time for it. And it's rainy season anyway hehe. You enjoy the family fun and maybe you can make your daughter this one instead of muffins ;) I'm sure she'll love it. Take care xxx

Yummy!! These look so delicious and healthy! I have heard about making caramel from dates, but have never tried it. and I LOVE dates. Have you made brownies or deserts with black beans before? I have only done it a few times, seems like a good ingredient too.

Never tried it myself, but I have successfully used red beets, potatoes, sweet potatoes, cauliflower, and zucchini in sweet treats. Let me know if you do try it though. Always looking for new healthy sweet treats. Have a great weekend my friend!

Yeah my black bean brownies are pretty awesome. I am not sure how healthy they are, but they are gluten free! lol Maybe I will post it some time. It is an older video of mine on YouTube.

I'll keep an eye out for that recipe.

hahaha awesome! :)

I would be super happy if someone came to a football gathering bringing these bars. I like the idea of peanuts, almonds and oats in the base. Great texture contrast to the date caramel. Yum!

Hehe. So much better than the usual buffalo wings and sausage rolls. Thanks for stopping by. Have a lovely weekend!

Such a delicious treat - well done! 💚

Thanks;) Over the past few years I have become a huge fan of raw desserts. They are the best if you ask me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45