GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY: Wild Harvest Moringa Morning Love ღ ღ ღ

in #food7 years ago

moringa smoothie-1.jpg

All hail to our little moringa tree that is growing up so fast. Though I found the leaves for this smoothie next to a small road going up to the National park, in no time we will have our own supply.

Only 1.5 months ago our little tree emerged from its seed and it's is growing so fast. I was so used to having an endless supply when we lived in Siem Reap, that I just realized how I miss this miracle plant.

Maybe one to two more months and we can start harvesting again. Though now I know where to find my wild supply ;) While moringa was a very common tree up in Siem reap, here down the coast you don't see it very often which is a real shame. Once our little tree has some seeds I'm planning to spread them around and create some moringa happiness right here at the coast ;)

If you haven't heard about Moringa is going to be the superfood of the year. In developing countries, it is used to up the essential nutrients of the people in need. It has protein and many of the essential vitamins and minerals we need on a daily basis.

While I was still living in Siem Reap we went to an organic farm as we are looking to export this wonderful product. CLICK HERE to read the article and learn more about the superpowers of this miracle tree.

moringa.jpg

Mighty Moringa Morning Love ღ ღ ღ


These tiny leaves are the true rock stars I found happily growing next to a small dirt road at the edge of the national park. Kitty cat totally not interested in this lovely free and wild delight!

moringa-1.jpg

moringa-2.jpg

moringa-3.jpg

Ingredients


  • 2 cups fresh moringa (if not available use spinach and add some moringa powder)
  • 2 cups coconut water from a young green coconut
  • 2 kiwifruit
  • 1.5-1 cup frozen tropical fruits (we used a mix of papaya and pineapple)
  • 1 big ripe banana (frozen to chill the smoothie and add extra creaminess)
  • Optional topping: chia seeds

FYI: I added some of the papaya seeds too as they keep nasty parasites at bay. Quite important when you live in the tropics ;) However, do not add too much as they create a bitter taste.

moringa smoothie-2.jpg

Directions


  1. Blend coconut water and moringa until smooth. Add all other ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw everything in at once. Add more water if needed.
  2. Optional: Supercharge your smoothie with superfoods such as hemp hearts, chia seeds or goji berries. I used chia seeds this time.

moringa smoothie-3.jpg

Can't wait til that little tree in teh background is ready for harvest.

Have a great weekend ;)



signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

Sort:  

Very nice! My Grandmother used the Moringa seeds as a water purifier to prevent bacteria growth

Nice never used them for that. Moringa seeds are so strange though.... have you ever eaten one and then drink a glass of water. make the water sweet... so strange. Have a great day and thanks for the lovely water purifying addition!

I love love love my green smoothies in the morning, although I prefer kale as my green energy for the day.
But I'll have a look at the Mighty Moringa :-D

Hope you can find it fresh. It's so good. Happy blending. Kale is so yum too.

I am very glad to see him friends, this is the first time I see this moringa tree. and this is very useful for my friends.

every part of the tree can be used. Such a wonderful plant indeed! Thanks for stopping by!

really a friend, indeed many plants that can be used either for medicine or for beauty. thank you guys already want to be friends with me.

I have powdered moringa, but have never seen the leaves fresh! Nice to see where my vibrant green powder originally came from. 🌿

They are so good... taste kind similar to spinach. Nice in smoothie, soups, stews, and salads.

Awesome! A moringa tree in your own garden, what a treasure ☺️

It sure is. Love the taste so much.

Awesome! A moringa tree in your own garden, what a treasure ☺️

Oh yeah I love moringa also and using it since 4 years already. We are living on Tenerife and here we can get it fresh also as there are many Moringa farms. I find that plant amazing. Great post. Thanks.

That's amazing. Always nice to have a fresh supply. Easy to grow too. Thanks for stopping by!

very informative as usual Amy! are you guys near KK or KampongSom?

Koh Kong is a bit far. But Kampong Som or Sihanoukville is not that far. We are in Kep and often go to Kampot too. Are you close?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77