Green Smoothie of The Day: Peanut Butter Papaya Bliss

in #food7 years ago

DSCF1638.JPG

Good morning fellow steemians.... or good night for the greater part of you! Breakfast time on my sight of the world, though!

Today's green drink is one with lots of papaya or pawpaw. Did you know that papaya seeds are a great addition to your smoothie too? While you can't add too much of them or they will make your smoothie taste bitter, they naturally clean up your intestines of parasite and strengthen your liver. Also, papaya seeds have a strong antibacterial and anti-inflammatory effect on our digestive systems, and they could prevent or even treat food poisoning.

When you live in a developing tropical country like Cambodia, adding papaya seeds to some of your smoothies definitely, pays off since all the issues mentioned above are common ailments that afflict many people In Cambodia every day!

INGREDIENTS (Serves 2 for breakfast or 4 for a snack)

2 cups fresh spinach packed
2 cups water
1 cup pineapple chunked
1.5 cup papaya chunked
2 bananas, chunked and frozen for extra creaminess)
2 tablespoons unsalted almond or peanut butter (I used homemade peanut butter), or to taste

FYI: want to learn how to make your own nut butter? It's so easy you'll never opt for store-bought again. Click here for the recipe.

DIRECTIONS

  1. Blend spinach and water until smooth. Add other ingredients and blend again. If the smoothie is too thick for you, add more liquid base. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw in everything at once.
  2. Add superfoods - such as goji berries, moringa powder, chia seeds, or hemp hearts - if you like.

Happy blending ;-)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I think it is nighty night for you if I'm correct?

Yes it is 01:55 clock....

That would be past my bedtime... especially during this season as it is getting hot hot hot... around 38C every day... so I like early mornings these days since it is still nice and cool outside! Good night ;-)

Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!! I have been consuming papaya seeds since I got E.Coli after traveling to another country (fun right?) Although the supplement contains more than just papaya, I have seen a dramatic decrease in bloating and digestive issues!

Oh that's a nice bonus too. Are you eating whole papaya too (or is it in the supplement)? Papaya has a sooting effect on the digestive tract. Many people on chemo use ease naseaus and stomach issues.

It's just the supplement :)! I can see why-I find it to be very soothing of my stomach unease!

Interesting concoction. Bit reminds me of the Thai papaya salad with the peanut chips.

Ohh I love Thai papaya salad. If not too spicy, though!

Thanks @rebeccaryan I love my morning smoothie!

I love green smoothies! I sometimes put blueberries in mine since it's like a superfood! I have noticed that when I skip a day , I feel less energy. This is what motivates me to drink them everyday....and besides, they taste GREAT!

Same here. I have been drinking a green smoothie for breakfast for more than 5 years now and def feel it when I skip a day or when we are away from home for a few days. I love blueberries too. Unfortunately, they are very expensive and hard to find in the tropics. Next time I go visit family and friends in Europe, I'm def gonna bring some seeds and start growing my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50