Easy Lunch Salad: Sunflower Sprout Salad with Arugula Pesto

in #food7 years ago

Tomato-and-Sunflower-Sprout-Salad-with-Arugula-Pesto.JPG

Simple delicious flavors for a perfect summer lunch. I'm a big fan of sunflower sprouts. The are big, they are crunchy and they are packed with protein and other health promoting nutrients. They have a lovely nutty flavor with a hint of lemon and incredible crunch.

Convinced? We sure love these delicious treats!

Ingredients (serves 2)

For the arugula pesto

3/4 cup packed arugula or rocket lettuce
1 clove of garlic
2 tbsp unsalted cashew or pine nuts (raw or toasted)
1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast (grated Parmesan cheese works too)
1.5-2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
A squeeze of lime or lemon
Sea salt to taste

For the sunflower sprout salad

3 cups sunflower sprouts
2 cups chopped tomatoes
1/2 cup finely chopped spring onion
2 slices bread of your choice, we used rye bread

Directions

  1. Combine all pesto ingredients in a small blender or food processor and blend until smooth pesto paste.
  2. Mix pesto with tomatoes and spring onions in a bowl.
  3. Add sprouts to aa bowl or plate and top with the tomato-pesto mix.
  4. Serve with a slice of bread.

Combined with a freshly brewed Iced Tea! Perfect summer lunch ღ ღ ღ

DSCF3659-1.jpg

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

Thanks you so much @hamzaoui! Steemit is a great platform filled with lovely people.

U are welcome, Please visit my blog

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.15 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Love salad & this look so delectable. @amy-goodrich, I wish I could rip that whole plate out of the picture.. Lol! Giving you an upvote & Following you so I don't miss anything like this next time.. Licking Fingers

Thank you so much for your support! Our door is always open. We have some pesto left if you are quick hehe!

I want one! perfect food since I ate pizza and fried chicken tonight haha
that really looks delicious!
but need to sleep now

Hehe night night ;) Perfect summer lunch for tomorrow ;)

Nice food and thanks for the recipe

Perfect combo for hot summer days 👌🏽

It sure is! Love salad for lunch.

Excellent post. Must try the sunflower sprouts. X

They are amazing! One of my fav microgreens.

I really do have to try them. I have some seeds so I think I will try and sprout them. Will let you know. X

Never tried to sprout my own since it is hard to find decent potting soil here in Cambodia. Good luck!

Hi Doll. You don't need potting compost. Fold over a few sheets of kitchen roll and place in a tray. Saturate the paper with water but not paper standing in water. Spread seeds on top. Place tray in a large clear plastic bag to make a tent, and loosely tuck ends under edge of tray. Put on the window sill, north facing if possible so not in direct sun. Re-dampen paper as needed.
I have not done this with sunflower seeds but it has worked with all others. Give it a try. Thank you for responding. X

Thank you so much for the tip! Will give that a try! I'll let you know how they turned out! Have a great weekend!

My pleasure. As I said, not tried it with large seeds but it works well with the smaller ones. Just keep the paper from drying out but do not let the seeds stand in water....if you know what I mean. You too have a great weekend. X

Just had another thought. Try soaking the seeds in water for a few hours first to re-hydrate and soften the outer shell, might work more quickly? :) X

Ohh that might be a good idea! Thanks for another great tip ;)

Ps. Sorry late in replying as have been mostly 'locked out' for 6 days! X

Yum! I love arugula. I shared a post about its health benefits a while ago. :)

Same here! Might be my most fav salad green. And it is so good for you!

It really is! :)

Really very excellent shot dear! Wow, the salad looks so tempting!
That pesto must be a killer for sure!
Cheers
@progressivechef

It sure was yum! Thanks @progressivechef!

I love arugula! Your salad looks good and so fresh! :-) I will try your arugula pesto recipe.

Thanks @ikaputri3! Love the arugula pesto!

Mmm... Yummy. I want this )

Hehe! Always welcome for a bite here ;) Thanks for your comment @shady!

Looks super delicious and nutritious as always ♥

Thanks ღ ღ ღ How is KL? Worth to visit? We have never been there.

It's huuuuge :) We love the multicultural vibes and of course the food. But it's not a place we'd like to stay longer than a month. So much traffic, you have to take a car or bus everywhere :p

I hear you! We are not a huge fan of traffic and cities either. We just decided to move back to Kampot after our Europe trip at the end of summer.

Hm, then KL maybe only for a quick stop over :) Oh wow that's great news :) Enjoy Europe and the Cambodian countryside :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62