30-minute Dinner: Butternut Fettuccine with Green Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, and Spinach

in #food7 years ago

Butternut-Spiralized-Veggies-with-Green-Beans-Cherry-Tomatoes-and-Spinach.JPG

We love spiralized veggies as a pasta replacement. Not only are they super nutritious, they taste so much better. While zucchini noodles aka zoodles are a favorite in the healthy food world, there are so many other veggies you can use as a pasta replacement. Though I love zoodles, sweet potatoes, carrots, red beet, pumpkin, and butternut are good substitutes to create some variation.

Veggie noodles are in fact one of my favorite kitchen hacks to get more veggies into your diet. Have you tried them yet? What are your favorites?

Ingredients (serves 2)

4 cups butternut (or pumpkin), ribbons or spiralized (scroll down for more info)
1.5 cup fresh green beans cut into bite-size pieces
2 cups halved cherry tomatoes
3 cups fresh shredded spinach
1-2 clove of garlic minced
1/2 cup chopped onions
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Black pepper and sea salt to taste
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds, raw or toasted
2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese or nutritional yeast for vegans

butternut.jpg

Instructions

  1. Slice the butternut or pumpkin into ribbons, using either a spiral slicer (aka spiralizer) or a vegetable peeler. The easiest way to use the vegetable peeler is when you hold the butternut or pumpkin down on a flat surface. A vegetable peeler will make flat fettuccine-like strands while a spiralizer (or julienne peeler) will make spaghetti-like strands. We made fettuccine strands because they are the easiest when using butternut or pumpkin.
    Click here for more info on how to spiralize veggies.
    DSCF8731.JPG
  2. Heat cooking oil over medium heat. Sauté onion and garlic for 2 to 3 minutes. Add cherry tomatoes, green beans, oregano, thyme, balsamic, salt, and pepper. Stir well and reduce heat. Cover and cook for 10 to 15 minutes.
  3. In a separate pan or wok, cook butternut or pumpkin fettuccine (or spirals) with a little oil and black pepper until soft.
  4. Add spinach and sauce to the cooked butternut/pumpkin pasta. Cook until heated through
  5. Optional: finish with Parmesan or nutritional yeast.

Butternut-Spiralized-Veggies-with-Green-Beans-Cherry-Tomatoes-and-Spinach (2).JPG

Bon Appétit

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

Look great, will try it out. Thanks for sharing the recipe

My pleasure. Enjoy!

very clear and from the heart, you are just a natural and the gift is in you dear, not forgetting to point out...yes you do have the swag deaNice post bro just did some upvotes for u please do well to do same with my posts please allow me to introduce you to this post, if u can kindly upvote and resteem it https://steemit.com/nsfw/@chuxlouis/why-people-masturbate-plus-four-4-constructive-reasons-to-help-get-rid-of-the-habit i am sure it will help a lot of people and if u like u can always check out some other post too.

I get hungry. Looks good.

Hehe! Glad you like the recipe! Thanks for stopping by ;)

mmmm. Great food post.

Look great, will try it out

looks good :)
vegetarian food ❦ ❤

Always love the color and flavor of plant-based earth foods. Thanks for your comment ;)

Amy you just made me very aware that my spiralizer is back in the states :(
I think I'm going to have to unfollow you... you make me too hungry ;)

This looks awesome (as usual) I'm coming to visit you soon, I swear it!
Have a wonderful week!
XO

Hehe! You can always buy a julienne peeler. Small and easy to take wherever you go. I tried to limit my kitchen supplies too... but failed miserably hehe. Always welcome here! Hope to visit Bali soon too. Are you planning to stay there for a while?

You're right, I did buy one but there's something so much more... convenient about something that does it for me ;) I started out with nothing here but I have been slowly growing my kitchen (whoops) I have a pretty heavy list of things I am begging people to bring me from storage in the states so I am always hoping for that to arrive so I can up my game haha

If you do come definitely let me know! I should be here :/ Hard to say. I have some travel proposed coming up during rainy season here but otherwise I plan on being set up as home base here for a while! You're welcome anytime! 💜

Hehe! I know the feeling! Always come back from Europe with a full suitcase. We plan on staying in Cambodia for a few more years too. Our cat is too old to travel now. But visa is easy and it's great home base to travel from. Would love to meet up one day! And you are always welcome at our home too xxx

The visa is easy over there you say? Indonesia is getting to be a real pain. At first it was a trade off for loving it here so much but it's expensive to have to do the whole visa run thing all of the time. I want to stay here but I'm keeping my mind open to other possibilities as well. I really love Malaysia too and it's a bit easier to stay there longer. When we were in Vietnam we were supposed to pop into Cambodia but then we ended up deciding to cut the trip short! It's definitely on my bucket list- gotta see Ankor of course! I'll let you know if it ends up being before you make it down here. Either way I have a feeling our paths will cross :)

It is the easiest. No visa runs and about $300 for 1-year multiple entries visa and 160 for 6 months. When you run out you just give your passport and money to travel agency, and they'll go to Phom Penh and extend it for you! Have been here for 3 years and never had any issues or never did a visa run. Angkor is stunning. Currently, I'm still living in Siem Reap, about 3 km from Angkor but the town is getting too busy so we decided to move back to Kampot or Kep in 2-3 months. We lived there for 1.5 years and it's so beautiful and quiet down there... and the bonus of the ocean too. Def let me know if you are coming! Have a great day xxx

GET OUT OF HERE! Wow! That would be so much better... You know, I kept telling myself it was worth it to stay here and put up with the visa stuff because of the many positives but Cambodia's visa situation sounds so much better... plus it's a big more central. Right now we're just isolated.
How is burning there? They burn trash here a lot and it's a big problem for me. Black air seems into my house all of the time from burning rubber. It's one of my only major complaints! You've got me thinking. The last time I had to leave, I was considering relocating just due to the inconvenience of it all (plus, I have to get all of my food products besides produce outside of the country which is another thing all together) ;)
Send me alllll of the info Amy! :)
💙

If you live far from the city or town were there is no trash collection burning is what they still do. You just have to find teh right locations. Most fruits and veggies on the market are local and grown with no chemicals. There are some great initivatives going on to make people aware of their plastic use and organic frams are popping up everywhere. Some stores now also sell quinoa and other things you would find in the food health store. And moringa grows everywhere here! Cambodia is not the most beautiful country of SE-Asia, but it is a good hub to make your homebase and travel from there. If you live far from the city or town where there is no trash collection burning is what they still do. You just have to find the right location. Most fruits and veggies on the market are local and grown with no chemicals. There are some great initiatives going on to make people aware of their plastic use and organic farms are popping up everywhere. Some stores (in cities like Phnom Penh and Siem Reap) now also sell quinoa, chia seeds, and other things you would find in the food health store. And Moringa grows everywhere here! Cambodia is not the most beautiful country in SE-Asia, but it is a good hub to make your home base and travel from there. We looked into moving to other countries in SE-Asia last year and then decided to stay here for the ease of living and visas. People are also the friendliest people I have ever met. You should come and take a look xxx

I love the idea of squash noodles - especially butternut squash! You've got such great ideas! This looks so yummy for dinner!

Aww, thanks @jaymorebeet for your comment. You definitely should try them out. So yum ;)

MM, looks yummy. I never tried making this with pumpkin. Ill try this out! One of my favorites is spiralized sweet potato 'pasta' with a cashew nut paste for a sauce.. Too good!

Here's that recipe if you are interested:
http://pinchofyum.com/sweet-potato-noodles

Thanks for sharing this.. ill try it soon as my wife is Paleo and i try to eat with her like that!

Oh love sweet potato noodles too. So yum! Paleo is just too much meat for my veggie heart. Though I'm not a 100 percent vegan/vegetarian, I only eat animal products on rare occasions. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57