Steem Cooking Show: Key Lime Pie

in #food6 years ago


Hey Dtube & Steemit!

My name is Lydia,

I post new cooking recipe videos here on Steemit every other day. I hope to help inspire others to make homemade food. It's not as difficult as many would think and much more delicious than anything you would buy pre-made!

Today’s treat: One of favorites!

Key Lime Pie

Crust
1/3 C butter
1 ¼ C crushed graham crackers

Filling
4 egg yolks
14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
1 lime
¼ C key lime juice
Zest of one lime
Pinch of salt
Whipping Cream for top

Preheat oven to 350 F. For the crust start off by melt your butter add in your raw sugar and then add your crusted graham crackers. Spread your mixture evenly in a 9" pie plate and press the bottom and sides to so everything is even. Bake in the oven for about 5-10 mins or until the crust is golden brown. Once that is done, take out of the oven and set aside. In a mixing bowl beat the egg yolks until they are thick and turn to a light yellow, once the yolks are light yellow and thick, add in sweetened condensed milk while mixing on low. Add in your zest and juice from your lime into a measuring cup then fill the cup with the rest of the key lime juice to make a full ½ cup of juice. Slowly add the lime juice and zest and continue to mix on a low speed just until blended. Pour the mixture into the prepared pie shell and bake 15 minutes. Remove and let cool. Once cooled add the whipping cream and add sliced limes for décor.

As always,

All things cooking…decentralized!

Follow me on: Youtube
Follow me on: Instagram

Working on updating my intro, so no intro on this vid either ;-)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Fact: I first heard about Key Lime Pie in a Dexter episode and wanted to try ever since ^^ Maybe i'll just have to make my own thanks to your recipe :)

Oh man! It's funny, I used to not like key lime pie, now I absolutely love it. Especially if you make your own crust. But you can always just buy a premade crust to save time. You should definitely try it, this is one I would totally recommend. Making your own will taste much better than buying it of course!

Oh man oh man I was sooo addicted to key lime pie for a while dont get me started again!

Come on! Just one bite...

@alphasteem..!!
Hey Could you please teach me to cook Biryani?

I think you will have to teach me first 🤣

Nice video. I always learn with you. The kitchen is very foreign to me, but less foreign when I watch your videos. Thanks.

Thanks for watching. Your welcome!

This Lime Pie can be good be in morning :) and one good tea :)

Yeah thats a good idea, I gotta give it a try haha.

I try soon :) and Thank you!! :)

oh my my I love key lime pie! lol I have a video of it on my YouTube channel! haha :) Great choice and a great pie to eat when it is hot.

Oh I know this is good when its hot when its cold, morning, evening, midnight. LOL

hahahaha yes yes it is! :)

What key should I use for this? Shed key left a distinct copper taste..

I'm not sure I just picked it up from the grocery store.

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory. You can read more about this new initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-june-28-2018.
If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. As I just added you, your profile will stay visible on the homepage of the directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) at least until my next update post on steemit.
Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!

ilove food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64