@allaboutpastries: My Version of Potato Salad; a Dish to Eat on its Own, or as Part of a Welcoming Lunch, and the Mayonnaise Recipe too! Plus More Interesting Posts I have found on Steemit.

in #food7 years ago

I know @allaboutpastries should be just all about pastries, but, I love cooking in any 'way, shape, or form'.  To this end you will always find me promoting other food related posts I come across, some of which are not strictly flour based. Well, what the heck, food is food!  My contribution today is my version of Potato Salad, and, the easiest and best Mayonnaise recipe you will ever have made. 

So, lets begin with Mayonnaise.  Firstly, you need this little machine, or one like it:

Source

Source

It must be a processor of some kind with an opening at the top so that you can run oil into the cavity while it is running.  I have had my little Kenwood for two years and keep it just for making mayonnaise.  It is absolutely brilliant and perfect for making my one egg mayonnaise; it has a small reservoir in the lid for the oil to run in.  

As I use whole egg for this recipe, you require something which works very fast or the oil will not emulsify with the egg.  You cannot use an ordinary food mixer or make the mayonnaise by hand, for the above reason.

Now we have discussed the equipment required, let's make mayonnaise!

Ingredients Required:

1 whole egg

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard (You can use any mustard I just like the flavour of Dijon)

1 tablespoon Vinegar (Any vinegar, mine was just ordinary)

Inexpensive vegetable oil  (Please do not even think of using olive oil to make mayonnaise, it is a complete waste of money and your mayo will have a 'nasty taint' to it -  I do not know why?  I used inexpensive sunflower oil.  You would never know the difference if you used a more pricier oil)

Salt and Pepper (Careful with the salt as you can very easily over season this.  Also, I forgot to add it in my slide show so had to stop and put it in much later!  You add it at the initial stage)

Method:

  1. Put you whole egg, vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper, into your machine.
  2. Whiz it until all is combined.
  3. Start adding the oil as quickly as you want.  (You don't have to be too careful with this, the speed of the machine will bring it together.  It will never split)!
  4. Keep adding oil until it is as thick as you want it to be.  (I could have added 1/2 litre of oil to the one egg if my machine was big enough.  However, it would have been very thick and you would loose the flavour of the other ingredients.  Just add oil until it is thick and a nice flavour)
  5. Put in a container in the fridge until required.

This really is a very easy recipe and fool proof too!  If you want to flavour your mayonnaise then add it at the initial stage along with the egg, vinegar, et al!

You can add:

Garlic cloves: 2 would have made a lovely garlic mayo with this quantity.

Herbs: rip off some leaves and put them in towards the end or your mayo will turn a lovely shade of green!

Lemon Juice:  substitute this for the vinegar in the first stage.

Anchovies: if you want to make a Caesar Dressing, again at the first stage.

I could go on but you get the message!

If you want your mayo thinner, make it thick and then let a portion down with water, or milk, or more lemon juice if you wish.  However, I intend to use mine to make my version of......

Potato Salad:

Ingredients Used:

Mayonnaise

Onion

Garlic

Chilli - dried and spicy!

Tomatoes

Olives stuffed with anchovies

Potatoes (boiled in their skins until soft and allowed to go cold.  I always cook more than is required, then I have some ready in the fridge for any other dish I need them for.  I like to keep the skins on because I love the earthy flavour the skins impart to the dish.  However, they peel really easily when cooked and cold)

Celery leaves chopped or any herb you want to use.

Method:

  1. Put some mayonnaise in the bottom of a bowl.
  2. Dice the onion up into small chunks, add to the mayo.
  3. Mash some garlic - to taste.  (I use a little salt when I do this as it helps release the juices from the cloves)
  4. Chop up the chillies and add both to the bowl.
  5. Dice the tomatoes and add.
  6. Slice the olives and add.
  7. Add the chopped up celery leaves.
  8. Stir well and put in the fridge for a short time so that the flavours 'meld' together.
  9. Serve in a dish of your choice.

You can add many other things to this dish.  I particularly like to add chopped up boiled eggs, tinned tuna, and cucumber, when I can get it.  Play around with this dish and enjoy.  

I gave my little corn man lunch on Monday after he had delivered the horses food.  He gave the thumbs up to this potato salad.  In Spain they do a type of tapas similar to this dish, ie. lots of various additions.  However, they use cold mashed potato!  Nuts I know but it is really good!

Posts I have enjoyed:

@hassaan is a new member of Steemit.  He has posted lots of really interesting recipes.  I particularly liked this Banana Pudding.  Please check out his site.

@elfkitchen has produced a cold noodle dish.  I have never seen this process before.  Intriguing, I wonder how it tastes?

@teresachang shows us how easy it is to make Mozzarella Cheese - great one!

and finally today......

@lyndsaybowes is doing a post on Sour Dough Starter!  This is great as she is using a purchased starter to make her bread with, while I am making my own starter.  It will be fantastic to compare the bread from both starters, though mine will be a little time yet before it is ready to go!

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   



Sort:  

gues its as delicious as it looks.... lol. nice. thanks for sharing @allaboutpastries

Yes, it really is. Try it and see. Thank you for your reply. X

That sound wonderful now that is real homemade potatoe salad! I would be proud to take that to a potluck and explain to them hope I made it and that it is homemade mayonnaise! I've never heard anyone make that before! Thanks for the recipes and for this awesome steem! Happy Saturday!😀😊🕊 this needs to be resteemed!

You are so sweet. I am always surprised when these type of posts get so little interest. Oh well. Eventually. Promise you though, if you make the mayonnaise you will never go back to shop bought. It is so simple and quick to do. Remember though it requires a food processor to work! Thanks for the comments. I mean what I say, you are all welcome to visit and stay when you finally make it to Spain. X

Mmm wonderful post! I make my own mayo too, got all these chickens, so why not right? I look forward to trying your potato salad, and also comparing our breads. Today I will be posting my sourdough bread recipe. I'll be on the lookout for yours, when your starter is ready to go. Much Love!

Yeh, fantastic! I so look forward to seeing yours. I start my 'biga' tonight to make Ciabatta tomorrow. Posted recipe on my last post. You will really enjoy the potato salad but do try the mayonnaise....best recipe ever, and cheapest too! :)X

For sure, your mayo recipe is the same as the one I use, just with dijon, of course I'll stick to your recipe, it sounds lovely <3

OOOH, glad someone else has used it, it really is easy and delicious too as I am sure you know. :)X

Yes, we have a tonne of laying hens, so I'm always finding ways to use their beautiful eggs <3

Lucky you. I had hens in England but had to let them go when I moved to Spain. Fresh, free range eggs re the best. :)X

Aw, I'm sorry you had to say goodbye to your hens, you probably have access to fresh eggs in Spain though, I bet a lot of people there keep chickens.

Yes, food in Spain is really good. Yes, do miss the hens running around. :)X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74