Help / ideas needed.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

 photo IMG_0642_zpsz5uekblz.jpg

OK Steemians I need a few ideas on what I should make with this big bag of onions. Yep, been bargain hunting again at the supermarket reduced section and picked up this rather large bag of onions for £0.50. Some will be going into a new batch of Chuck it all in stew that I'm making this morning and French onion stew is possible as well. I was hoping some of you great foody people could come up with other recipes from around the world for me to try.

Also got about 10 ripe plums if anyone has ideas for those too.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks, will look into that.

Going to have to have a look for some cheap tomatos but this looks good :)

Not an edible suggestion, but boil up the skins for some natural dye

not heard of this before, will have to look into it, thanks

I like to stir fry onions with eggs.

I like a stir fry so that sounds good :)

When life gives you onions, make onionade? But seriously, the more onions the better in stews, omelettes, casseroles, and the like. I would suggest a massive cooking day and storing up servings of hearty food in the freezer.

going to get started on a batch of stew after I finish my coffee, nothing better to eat on a cold winters day.

A big onion chutney with some chilli in it for some spice would take care of some of them!

Never tried making a chutney so I may try this, thanks :)

try onion soup, here is a recipe very good in winter, it keeps warm in your body ;)

Just put a pan of onion soup on, your recipe is in french (I think) but from my very poor language skills looks similar to what I did apart from I don't have any white wine to hand.

Sorry you don't understand the recipe, yes it's in french but it was just to give you idea after you use the recipe you want ;) good luck with your big onion bag lol

No one suggested onion rings yet?

Also you can drop one of these in a glass of water and watch it grow then eat the top.

onion rings.... they are just the best thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58