DELICIOUS Raw Vegan Egg Salad!

in #food6 years ago

green house-9.jpg

The other day, one of my roommates offered to give me some black salt since she had a bunch of it. If you're not familiar, black salt smells and tastes like eggs. Ironically enough, the salt was actually pink...anyway, I was thinking.."what can I make raw that would be like eggs?"

The first thing that popped into my mind was egg salad so off to the Google I went! I immediately found a recipe that caught my attention at https://www.soulintheraw.com/raw-vegan-egg-salad/

I already had a lot of the ingredients I needed, which is always a win! I whipped up this meal in a hurry before I left to work and didn't have time to take photos. This meal tasted so delicious that I made it again the next day, but double the amount! My husband loved it, my roommates loved it and even my co-workers at the Vegan restaurant loved it!

This time I was able to take my time and photograph the process :)

So the first step is to make cauliflower rice. I recently experienced cauliflower rice for the first time and I am so happy! I grew up eating rice and beans, so rice is one of the foods I've really missed since eating raw for the past month. And it is the easiest thing ever to make!

green house.jpg
Cauliflower helps prevent cancer, heart disease and brain disorders. It also is rich in Vitamins C and K, reduces inflammation, helps with digestion and much more!

Simply put a head of cauliflower in a food processor and pulse until you have small, fluffy rice like pieces. Make sure not to go too overboard or you'll have something more like mashed cauliflower.

green house-2.jpg

Next I diced up some a refreshingly delicious cucumber.

green house-3.jpg
Cucumbers help you stay hydrated, reduces risk of cancer, helps with digestion, cures diabetes and a lot more!

green house-4.jpg

Next I diced up some sweet onion.

green house-5.jpg
Sweet onions are rich in Vitamins B and C, contain iron, fiber, potassium and more!

The recipe calls for dill. I went for dill pickles because that's what I could find at the store and they did not disappoint!

green house-6.jpg
Dill pickles help with gut health, hydration, muscle cramps and much more.

Next I cut up a few avocados since I had the teeny baby ones and I LOVE avocados!

green house-7.jpg
Avocados are not only delicious but loaded with fiber and potassium, help lower cholesterol and much more!

The recipe called for 2-3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast. I can never have too much nooch, so I loaded it on there!

green house-8.jpg
*Nutritional yeast has a cheesy flavor and is loaded with vitamin B, protein, fiber and more! *

I mixed all of these together with some black salt and dinner was served!! We've been eating this throughout the week and have not gotten tired of it yet! Enjoy :)

green house-10.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Janell,
I just read this recipe and I really wonder what it tastes like!🤔
Cauliflower rice! 😃That sounds so creative and healthy. I love rice and beans too, but I want more broccoli and cauliflower in my diet for nutritional reasons, so this recipe was just what I was looking for😃😌
Thank you for sharing!
@Lalai
P.S.
I have upvoted and I will resteem.

Awesome!! Thanks so much ♡the cauliflower rice is so easy to make to!! Glad it can help. Let me know what you think when you've tried it @Lalai

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Awesome!! Thanks so much♡

Congratulations @alexa.janell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Sounds great! I'll check these out♡Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19