Feeding my taco addiction @ El Vagon

in #food6 years ago

In the couple months that I’ve been on the beautiful island of Puerto Rico, I developed a (possibly unhealthy?) addiction to fish tacos.

Which is interesting because I never really liked tacos before, not surprising I guess since the majority of my taco experiences of the past involved TacoBell. You could say Puerto Rico saved me from a taco-less life.


Artwork right outside my favorite taco joint (also what my face looks like when I see tacos).

The Vibe

We randomly stumbled upon El Vagon Directions while wandering the streets of San Juan. Now it’s my “go to” place for mind-blowingly delicious tacos, cold drinks and a chill vibe.


El Vagon food truck

We brought our family here after picking them up from the airport - the food set a pretty high standard from the rest of their visit!

It’s interesting that even though it’s an outdoor food truck style place, the shade and fans keep the area at a comfortable temperature.

It’s a very laid-back and budget-friendly place to grab a bite to eat. During the day you will most likely see local business class workers on their lunch break, but it gets livelier (and busier) in the evenings.


Fresh food, cold beer and friendly faces

The staff is friendly, and there have always been one or two staff members that were bilingual when I’ve been there.

There are a couple locations in the area and on some nights there will be live music and even people dancing - it’s just a great spot to meet locals and socialize. I heard they have a good selection of local beers as well.

Star of the Show: Baja Fish Tacos

The deliciousness of their tacos is enough to silence the table. Conversations will stop, and all you’ll hear is periodic “mmm-ing.”


Steak Tacos w/ Chips

I always order something from their Fish Taco selection, and the portions are generous - always fresh, topped with freshly fried fish and a side of homemade chips & dip. They also have vegetarian options!


Baja Fish Tacos (my favorite!)

It’s off the beaten path, but its worth the visit - you don’t want to miss out on this place. !

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=adventurejunkies
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=feeding-my-taco-addiction-el-vagon


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @adventurejunkies! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44