How to escape your job and open your own food truck!

in #food-truck8 years ago (edited)



For the new readers, the first part is here https://steemit.com/food-truck/@showerhead/want-to-enter-the-food-truck-industry


From here on out, I have to start giving names so the professional is now named "Rick."

Most cooks are messed up in the head from parents, drug use, relationships, and I’m no exception. So we need a mentor who can guide us to where we need to be. Not just a boss who orders us while he collects, we need a leader who is right there with us in the trenches. Marco Pierre White is arguable the best example of being a mentor who took in Gordon Ramsay as an apprentice. Gordon had a very problematic upbringing from his heroin addicted brother, leg injury before making it to the majors in football (soccer), and being from an impoverished family. Marco was his leader, his mentor, his guiding light. Marco shaped Gordon into the man he is today. We all want our Marco.


Rick and I started laughing but after we were done we went straight to work. He questioned me on the menu, asked me my cooking experience in case he needed an extra hand, what my criminal record was (I was handling the money after all) and if I'd be alright being in a truck 3 inches shorter than me. I answered every single one truthfully without hesitation, although he doesn't like my criminal record (it's bad) he had no other choice. We go over how where orders go, how to write tickets, who gets discounts, and everything needed for a smooth service.

He exits the truck and opens the window to a line of 15-20 people. This was the moment of truth and I am overjoyed and anxious to see what happens next. The first order written down exactly like he desired, called out like instructed, placed where needed, and he was cooking without a moment wasted. I took 5 people's orders in 5 minutes after the usual questions, compliments from regulars, and comments on me being able to fit with my height being so obvious. It went like this for 6 hours of non-stop orders, him doing this completely solo without a complaint from him and it was one of the most impressive things anyone has witnessed.

The first six hours were non-stop orders and it finally started to lighten up but still enough to keep us busy. Eight hours has passed and most people have left the event and we'd get the occasional customer every 15 minutes or so. By this time he started making dinner for us. He started to brag about these pickles that he makes and I don't like pickles at all (AT ALL). He hands me a slice and I tell him I won't like it, he insists and I start chewing it. I couldn't take it; I grab the garbage can and spit it out. I tell him embarrassingly, “I don't like pickles but that was the most flavorful pickle I've ever had and why I spat it out," and he just laughs and says “That is the greatest save I’ve ever heard.”

We close up after the twelve hours, cleaning the truck from head to toe. I asked him about where he went to school, what chefs he has worked under, why got into cooking and he tells me everything. He went to school in Italy, his last gig was Batali but his most memorable one was Ramsay, and he got into cooking because he just simply loved it. This man was everything I ever wanted in a mentor but didn't know it yet.

He takes me on for a week just to help me out because he knows I'm out of work. We worked together perfectly and he teaches me all his recipes to be the cook while he did front of house when it was slow. The recipes not complex or even the set up difficult but I had trouble running this one man operation for the first three days but he was patient, I never messed up and order but I was slow. By the fourth day I got my groove and he noticed it. By the fifth day he challenges me to be back of house for an entire lunch service and I surprised him by doing it 99% perfectly (someone asked for no pickles). He told he was impressed and no one picked it up that quickly before. I knew I was going to be in this business for a while.

The week finishes and it’s getting too cold for food truck season to continue. He is wrapping up for the season and he doesn't forget my situation. Rick tells me "Yeah, man. I'm wrapping up for the season after tomorrow but I recommended you to another truck that has private events for another month." This was my last time on that truck but if I could nearly master that truck than any other truck should be a breeze (WRONG. WRONG. WRONG.).

The next day comes and I got a call from my new boss. He opens with "Rick recommended you and if recommended you, you must be good." We arranged to meet the next day and he's going to show me my new kitchen, co-workers, and food truck. I'm excited, I know I'm part of something now and will be for a long time if Rick's word means that much. The next day comes and I take one look at him and instantly knew this was going to suck.


I will continue in another post. I have work in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65