Want to enter the food truck industry?

in #food-truck8 years ago (edited)

      


"Want to own your very own business? Want to stop working at an office and make it big in the culinary scene and be getting the recognition you deserve? Do you hate the 9-5s you've been used to your entire adult life? Do you have the connections to get investors?"     That’s great, open an Etsy account and sell your wares there but stay away from the food truck industry. You’re not prepared.    

  Some background information about me. I'm in my late twenties, stuck in the culinary industry because it’s the only thing I've worked in since 12 years old, and I'm not great at cooking but damn good with patrons. I've been in the food truck industry for 4 years now and I plan to open my own food truck when I believe I've worked enough to gain every single piece of knowledge I need to run a business successfully. It’s not my dream but it’s all I know.  

 My first introduction to the food truck scene was working under a professional chef that has worked under a few celebrity chefs such as Batali, Flay, and Ramsay in their bigger restaurants. He was the most professional food truck owner around in every aspect that a chef/owner deals with such as their food, people, money, truck itself, employees, etc. His food is simply divine, he knows everyone’s name and introduces himself to everyone he can when not super busy, and other trucks ask him for advice on where to park and which events are worth it. Simply put, he’s made for this industry and when he leaves, it’ll be a sad day.  


 My first day working for him was in October and towards the end of the season for him. It was his last big event of the year and he needed a front of house. The chef’s wife was going around town seeing if anybody had anyone available for the job. I was recommended (shockingly) by my ex-boss who fired me a week before. The phone call I received out of nowhere was made by his wife and she just asked me two simple questions after the introductions “Are you good with people and do you need a job?” I was on the verge of losing my apartment and no one else was hiring so this was a godsend. She told me my first day would be in two days and it’ll be 12 hours long starting at 11am. With that phone call I had an opportunity that changed my life, whether if better or worse I still have no idea. 

10:45am arrived on my first day and I have no idea what the truck looks like or where it’s parked in this giant venue. I scrambled around the entire place until I find it 15 minutes later right on time which is bad for the restaurant industry, either be early or don’t bother is the motto for most owners. The truck is parked smack dab in the middle next to 3 other trucks surrounded by people waiting for them to open in 30 minutes. My first instinct is to rush in and apologize profusely for being “late,” and immediately I’m greeted with “Dude, even my wife still hasn’t found us.”     


I will continue this story in another post, I got work tomorrow.       

Sort:  

I would be interested in further episode! Well written.

This is my first blog post on anything so thanks a lot, Indominion. I really appreciate the feedback.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.7 and reading ease of 75%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

I look forward to the follow-up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65