You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Following and Followers... I went through my list

in #followers7 years ago

Yeah :) a little of both is good, and I forgot to mention that about the successful part I meant mostly users who don't need helo with visibility anymore and who write posts which I personally don't find that interesting.

I haven't been too picky about my followers since with the curation trail I was generally following new users who needed a boost or I didn't want their first content posts to be overlooked after reading their intro posts.

Maybe I should instead just create another more personal account for a more interesting home page. :)

Sort:  

Those are all pretty good ideas. The @chaospoet account is mine and I only use it occasionally when I am using the novelty of prose to communicate. I could setup a more personal account there if I chose to take a similar path.

I mainly wrote this post because I was seeing a lot of people that ONLY resteem stuff. I thought they might want to know that this makes them not a very attractive account to follow.

Hehe I can't wait for a seperate posts/re-steem section. It would be great to have posts in one page and re-steems from your followers on another since I often miss some posts because of timezones or just not being online and some of my followers have great re-steems!

Yeah I've found some great people thanks to resteems. I like resteems and I use it too. I just prefer to follow people that also post some of their own stuff once in awhile. I didn't prune people in some cases that their last 20 posts were all actually resteems, because I'd find a good post from them a little way down in their blog and say "Oh yeah, that's why I follow you..." :)

I like people who use their head, and are not afraid to share with all of us. Especially when they share stuff I've never heard of.

I realized awhile ago when it comes to curation rewards I may be approaching it totally wrong. I don't factor curation rewards into how I vote at all. I vote on what I like, appreciate, etc. I stopped worrying about whether I thought it was going to blow up and trend long ago.

My steem power is low enough that me voting on something I thought would trend would not give me much anyway. Plus, I realized doing that would cause a dogpile and would make the overall platform much less interesting clusters of the same thing over and over again.

If I was going for curation rewards I'd be voting on all the sports posts. @bacchist, @ats-david, and @steemsports type people were brilliant when they went that route as there truly are a lot of people that consider sports more important than virtually any other thing on the planet. It is smart to tap into that.

If maximizing curation rewards were my goal those are the GUARANTEED WIN topics. Yet, I personally have no interest in them. So I don't vote on them. Occasionally, I'll glance at one and it might be so damn well written that I feel the need to up vote it, but for the most part I don't.

So I may be odd that way. I honestly could care less about curation rewards. If I were not a fanatic content creator and if I found content creation challenging I might look at that in a very different light.

Hehe, yeah the curation rewards aren't bringing much food to the table... yet atleast :P

I used to be very low on voting power in the beginning when there was no votescaling for low SP accounts, but figured if I keep my VP high and scale my votes more evenly to more users they get the most out of it in the long run. This also gave me room to not just vote on low payout posts but also on posts from regulars and the ones you knew would get a lot of rewards.

At first I felt a bit bad about not voting 100% on every post and some users also asked me why 40-80% but it got a lot easier when I got a following on my curation and I knew that my 50% vote now is still worth 10-100x more thanks to the following, so it equaled it out and the distribution could be wider and I was able to vote on a lot more posts while still making some curation rewards for everyone involved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12