The Flu Really Is That Bad - by @voiceofreason

in #flu6 years ago

(Source: https://news.vanderbilt.edu/2018/01/05/my-southern-health-got-the-flu-heres-why-you-need-to-stay-home/)

The Flu is every bit as bad as we are hearing.

This morning I called the pediatrician to make an appointment for my child in order to just do a routine wellness check up.

The Pediatrician asked how important it was for my child to be seen...

I thought that was a weird question, but then she proceeded to tell me that they are having tons of sick kids coming in every day, and they are not really getting better.

The same kids have been coming in for weeks and months.

Her exact words were:

"This flu season is the worst one in years, it is probably worse than whatever you are hearing about it on the news."

Wow!

Worse than we are hearing?!

The Pediatrician followed that up with saying that I should only be bringing my kid in if they are already sick.

Upon hearing that, I said ok no need to tell me twice, I will not be taking my child in for a checkup unless they are really sick.

Time for flu vaccines?

I have never gotten a flu vaccine before but perhaps it is time to start considering these each year, both for me and for others in my family.

I've read that at the very least it makes it less severe if you catch the virus.

Any little bit might help as this flu is a nasty one!

Sort:  

Thank goodness the Pediatrician told you the truth and gave the right advice. Is this flu caused by the climate of the area? Health first, please do get the flu vaccine

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I had the flu earlier this year and was sick for 2 weeks! I don't remember ever being that sick, it was pretty terrible. You made the right choice, in my opinion, by not bringing your child into the doctor right now. And kudos to the doctor for advising you to wait in order to avoid getting your family sick. I don't get the flu vaccine because I have an adverse reaction to it that isn't fun but it may be worth considering for your family if you feel its best. Wishing you and your family good health and happiness!
Ivy

@ brightideas Prevention is better than cure they say. Just follow the doc's advise.

All the positive thoughts are going your way! I hope that this flu season comes to an end soon, I live in Santa Barbara and it seems like the worst of it has past here but it was bad while it was in full force! Eat as healthy as you can while it sicks around to give your immune system a fighting chance!

flu of the annual disease that continues to attack. if I get the flu my body feels weak, coupled with a runny nose.

ooo thanks for creating an awearness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63