The Old Dog Discusses: When The Flight Itself is Worth The Trip!

in #flight7 years ago (edited)

It had been many years since I had  flown in and out of a tiny airport! On our recent trip to Ireland we flew in a two propeller aircraft for the first leg of our journey from Lugano/Agno to Zurich.

What Are The Advantages of a Small Airport?

  • Going through security was quick and friendly with just one line and no crowds!
  • From the front doors of the airport, to security, to the boarding area it's a total of 25 meters! Cool!
  • From the boarding area you walk directly to the plane. It's right there!

The Flight Itself Was Worth The Price Let Alone The Vacation That Followed!

  • It only takes 30 minutes to go from Lugano to Zurich
  • You fly over the amazing lakes and mountains
  • On a clear day the view is spectacular!
  • I'm sure that many would pay just to see the panorama!


Here are a few shots from the trip back from Zurich showing the Italian speaking area of Ticino


Lago Maggiore showing Locarno on the left!


Another shot of Lago Maggiore. Switzerland is the most mountainous country in the world!


Flying over the area was like looking at a topographical map! We tried to identify all of our stomping grounds!



It was so cool to see Lugano (the sprawling "city" on the left) from above!



The Lake of Lugano. On the upper left is still Lugano and on the right you see the man-made causeway that connects the two shores of the lake. I live across the causeway and to the right out of the picture!



We ended up flying more towards my house as the plane reversed its direction and doubled back for the landing!



Here we were way past my home and well into Italian air space!



Above top you can see all of the branches of the lake of Lugano and below a lake in italy!

Special Bonus! @lellabird60 Filmed The Landing!


How those tiny wheels and landing gear can take the weight and the force of impact amazes me!

What About You?

  • Have you flown out of a tiny airport?
  • Did you like it?
  • Have you ever had a spectacular view from the plane?


I hope that you enjoyed this flight!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Flying in and out of tiny airport is almost a hobby of mine!

I have had the great opportunity to fly over many breathtaking views including mountainous areas of the Northwest Pacific coastal Mountains, the Canadian rockies, the great Plains of North America and had sights that blew my mind: A heart shaped in the side of an entire mountain, multiple unforgettable sunrises and sunsets and, to top it all, a rainbow circle around the shadow of the plane seen in the mist of Haida Gwaii while landing... Magnificent!

Thanks for this beautiful opportunity to share, once again. Namaste :)

We want pictures! Can you dig any up?

MAYBE WHEN MY COMPUTER COMES BACK TO LIFE... IF I MANAGE TO REANIMATE IT, I WILL TRY TO POST A FEW. NAMASTE :)

You need to find a good physician. Maybe one of your former students?

Gorgeous pictures. I grew up across the street from a very small local airport and was always watching the little planes take off and land from my bedroom. Had dreams of one day learning to fly one of those planes, who knows maybe with my future Steem earnings I might be able to buy one and learn one day!

That would be cool. my brother-in law is a pilot. he loves it!

I've brought the idea up to my wife several times, but she is convinced that all the dangerous things that can happen in planes happen to little personal planes. I'll keep working on her though.

Tell her you will stay away from the Bermuda Triangle if you are allowed to get a plane. That is a pretty fair deal, no?

(:

I can't see how she can disagree with that :) you're right hahah.

It's a pretty reasonable and balanced idea!

(:

I mean, is there any danger at all if you avoid the Bermuda Triangle??? I feel like the risk level drops straight to zero when you take that Caribbean wasteland out of the picture. ;) This is foolproof now haha.

I feel similarly.

Do we need to get a #SteemitPetition going to help you man?

LOL

See you later around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
on my page I hope!

Very very amazing, I am shocked! :)
Interesting!
This words for good day and your mood
And I want to give you a poem good word!

Do not stand aloof indifference,
When someone has a problem.
Run on help need
At any moment, always
And if anyone - it will help
Your kindness, your smile,
You're happy that the day was not lived in vain,
Years you live not in vain.
:):):):):)

It's always nice to have a visit from Steemit's resident poet!

Please!

Short but interesting travelogue - enjoyed reading it and 'seeing' it.

Going through and watching the photos, I had a feeling I'm on the plane too. Several times I almost bent my head to see it better through that small window, but then we landed! 😊

Very good read! Thank you!

You're funny! I like that @ana-maria!

Nice! in 10 years private jet ;)

Haha! Sometimes it almost looks that way doesn't it?

lol - somehow yes :)
Hardcore anyway when you are longer in the field and look back. I think the majority of crypto-users even don`t know that Bitcoin was forked in past - haha.

Wow, awesome pictures! I did see laggio di garda but laggio maggiore is still on the list. Have you ever been?

Yes, Lago di Garda is about 2 hours drive from my place. Very nice indeed!

No way, that close! I'm so jealous! :P
I once spent a few weeks working on a holiday resort in the province of Brescia :) Had a great time. Have never been so tanned in my life :D

Do I smell a post about that experience coming in the near future! Very cool!

Haha. Wasn't planning on it, but it's a possibility :P Got some great pictures of that trip as well ;)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Note: With the latest hard fork my program is now changing. My upvotes now have much more power and so all commenters on my posts will be rewarded with an upvote! The simple ones with something and the ones that I really like with a lot higher percentage!

What a nice surprise. Thank you! :)

nice....your post deserve upvote and resteem...

amazing!!!1 upvote and follow:)

Thanks a lot! I appreciate your time @evimeria!

you are welcome @kus-knee:)

Awesome post! Pics are beautiful and advice is good! Smaller airports are not always an option, but when you can... do. Haha. @hansenator

Yes, for us it was perfect on that occasion!

it's not the flying that bothers me (that part i love!), it's the takeoff and landings i find so nerve wracking 😉. looks wonderful though!

Yes, for me more so the landing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78