You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Newspaper From Year 1900: Burnt At The Stake For Teaching Spherical Earth To Children?! 😮

in #flatearth7 years ago

The tone of the article is obviously ironic and exaggerated for humour. The joke is "those crazy foreigners still believe the Earth is flat in the year 1900, haha, I bet next they'll be burning teachers at the stake", which is a bit mean to the fine folk of Portsmouth but for a local paper in Minnesota reporting on events across the Atlantic some stretching of the truth in service of a laugh is acceptable.

What it proves, then, is that believing the Earth is flat was already well-refuted enough to be the butt of jokes by the year 1900.

Sort:  

Lucky I got my oven mitt on before my epic facepalm. These internet flatties give me an endless source of amusement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51