Weekly Micro-fiction contest Prompt Control

in #flashfiction5 years ago

krgungc653.png


Control

UP, UP, DOWN, DOWN, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, B, A, START

I have lived with a controller in my hand. I have mastered puzzles, traveled far, battled monsters, and saved the girl. I have been a villain more than once. I have lived a hundred different lives that are all a part of me.

I see it sitting dusty on the shelf. Games still in plastic wrap stacked up high. Children's toys are piled all around and little hands now take up all my time. I play with dolls, bubbles, and chalk. I pretend to be a horse or a teacher or a pet. I see those games now as a waste of time.

I see how life changes now. Not so old that I know it all but still I have learned a lot. That thinks that you think matter oh so much are not always that important. I found a new kind of control. One that keeps pushing forward, to succeed and carry on. For little hands can be a powerful force to inspire.

My life is theirs they have control. I gave it up when the joined me. Yet I guide them every day. Showing them the right way. So that I can give them things I didn’t have. So they don’t face the hardships that I did. So I can fulfill a parents dream. To do not what they did. To learn from those mistakes. Now to pass that on.


speculative fiction writers of steemit

Image by @EdibleCthulhu

image source

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

I still like to play NES games now and then. I got an emulator on my laptop and a couple NES controllers that can plug into USB. I put on Megaman, or Rygar, or Ninja Gaiden, or Zelda, etc.. and it's like I'm 7 again. lol. I do think it's kinda a waste of time, but I don't do it to often. And my only kid is a dog. lol. So I've never really had the whole parenting experience like you. I'm sure it completely takes over and becomes the most important thing in your life.

It does it is pretty crazy. I see all these games I bought I never opened and they are a few years old. But when they are a little older I am sure things will change. Just for now I am their favorite person to play with. I am going to enjoy that while it last.

What game were you playing?

I the first and second paragraphs stuck out for me. Well written.

I was a play station guy. So a lot of stuff there. COD, red dead, etc

hey @stever82

sorry but I my thumb was dictating me that it was

UP, UP, DOWN, DOWN, LEFT, RIGHT, LEFT, RIGHT, B, A, B, A, SELECT, START combination, and was this for Contra 30 lives? I cant even remember the game. lol
Those were the good ol days.

lesson ive learned and I what I always say to my eldest, as a player 1 do not leave player 2 behind always look after your sister.

Haha I will see if that works when they get older. I have two girls so have to see if I get them into games.

Posted using Partiko iOS


You just planted 0.11 tree(s)!


Thanks to @stever82

We have planted already
8435.07 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24448.48
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Nice, @stever82. This story has a great moral!

Thanks glad you liked it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.777 which ranks you at #13354 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 53 places in the last three days (old rank 13301).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85