The End Curse : An 100 Words Flash Fiction.

in #flashfiction6 years ago (edited)

Challenger_explosion (1).jpg
Source From Wikipedia

Mom's cursive words might have played a role here, who knows. I've been addicted to science since birth that I became useless at home but useful to my calculations. It finally paid off, I became an astronaut fifteen years later.
"This science of yours will kill you one day".
She once cursed me, though she didn't meant it. Said out of frustration because I never cared to help her in the kitchen. Not for once.

And here we are shooting into space, I remembered the word, tried shutting it off my mind but the next sound made those words true.

The Above is #100words #flashfiction entry into @jayna contest

Sort:  

Wow, well done, @botefarm. I went to the wikipedia link first before reading your story, as I wasn't quite sure what it was. That made all the difference as I read the story. Oh my, such a sad event that was. You've done a great job of capturing a fictional perspective around that real life tragedy.

I'm sorry it took me a few days to stop by and comment. I often get too busy during the week and have to catch up on the weekends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43