BIBLE DOCTRINE SURVEY - PERSONALITY OF GOD

in #flaminghelpers6 years ago (edited)

BIBLE Study.jpg

I pray that the Holy Spirit will reveal all that we are going to do in this studies.

1 Cor 2: 10 But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.

If you want to know God to His full extent then I am inviting you to do this studies with me. Today we start with a new series about the Personality of God and then the Names of God whereby He reveals to us who He is through His names in the bible. This is a series of studies not to be missed!

PERSONALITY OF GOD

MEANING:

God is not an impersonal force or principle but a divine relation being who desires to communicate and commune with His creation.

KEY VERSES

Genesis 1:27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

Genesis 3:8-13 8 And they heard the sound of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God among the trees of the garden.
9 Then the Lord God called to Adam and said to him, “Where are you?”
10 So he said, “I heard Your voice in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; and I hid myself.”
11 And He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree of which I commanded you that you should not eat?”
12 Then the man said, “The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I ate.”
13 And the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this you have done?”
The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.”

Psalm 145: 14-18 The Lord upholds all who fall,
And raises up all who are bowed down.
15 The eyes of all look expectantly to You,
And You give them their food in due season.
16 You open Your hand
And satisfy the desire of every living thing.
17 The Lord is righteous in all His ways,
Gracious in all His works. 18 The Lord is near to all who call upon Him,
To all who call upon Him in truth.

Jeremiah 33:3 ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’

Isaiah 30:21
Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,
“This is the way, walk in it,”
Whenever you turn to the right hand
Or whenever you turn to the left.

1 John 1:3
that which we have seen and heard we declare to you, that you also may have fellowship with us; and truly our fellowship is with the Father and with His Son Jesus Christ.

Hebrews 1:2
God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, 2 has in these last days spoken to us by His Son,

John 16:13
However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.

Matthew 4:4 But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’”[a]

EXPLANATION

  • God possesses all the characteristics of personality - mind, will and emotions - but on an infinitely higher level than man.

  • God is immanent - i.e. personally present in and involved with His creation, although He is not limited by His creation.

  • The personality of God does not mean that He is merely an exalted man or that He has a physical body except as seen in Christ.

  • God has
    ~ A personal name

Exodus 3:14 And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And He said, “Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

~ intellect

1 Corinthians 2:11 For what man knows the things of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so no one knows the things of God except the Spirit of God. 1

~ will

John 6:38-40 For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me. 39 This is the will of the Father who sent Me, that of all He has given Me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up at the last day. 40 And this is the will of Him who sent Me, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in Him may have everlasting life; and I will raise him up at the last day.”

~ emotions

  • grief - Genesis 6:6 And the Lord was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart.

  • love - John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.
    Jeremiah 31:3 The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying:
    “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love;
    Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you.

  • jealousy Exodus 20:5 you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God,

  • God speaks

Exodus 3:4 So when the Lord saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!”

  • God sees

Genesis 16:13 Then she called the name of the Lord who spoke to her, You-Are-the-God-Who-Sees; for she said, “Have I also here seen Him who sees me?”

  • God hears

1 John 5:14-15 Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. 15 And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

Psalm 66:19 But certainly God has heard me; He has attended to the voice of my prayer.

  • God relates to man primarily on a spiritual basis.

John 4:24 God is Spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.”

  • God acts

1 Kings 18:37-38 37 Hear me, O Lord, hear me, that this people may know that You are the Lord God, and that You have turned their hearts back to You again.”
38 Then the fire of the Lord fell and consumed the burnt sacrifice, and the wood and the stones and the dust, and it licked up the water that was in the trench. 39 Now when all the people saw it, they fell on their faces; and they said, “The Lord, He is God! The Lord, He is God!”

  • Because God has a personality He can communicate with and relate to man.

  • God relates to man first as
    ~ Creator
    ~ then as Savior
    ~ then as Lord
    ~ then as Father

ASSIGNMENT

How would you personally relate to God if He were a force or a principle?
Please put your answer in the comments, in order for me tip participants and give 0.200 SBD to the best answer please upvote the post. God bless!

Thank you for participating @timochenko, @addempsea, @cryptofig, @elplaga, @captain-tom, @pranithreddy, @kingvko. I will be sending each of you 0.100 SBD and really appreciate your participation very much. I must also still send the previous assignments tips! Will do soon.

Next study: How God reveals His personality in the Bible to us through His different names in the Bible. This is another beautiful study, that helps us to understand God better, use His different names for different circumstances and praise! Hope to see you there!

I did this Bible School course more than 20 years ago over a period of 2 years, and it is now my privilege to share it with you.

Dr Dennis J. Mock: Bible training for church leadership, Bible Doctrine Survey, course no. 4
Scripture: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage - New King James Version

Elize10.jpg
@hope777

Sort:  

Thank you @hope777 for such an opportunity. I learnt something great from todays study.

My answer to the assignment.

My Personal relationship with God is through studing and meditate on the word, there I will have more insights about God. Secondly prayer brings a bond between man and God, there you can communicate with the father who is in heaven.

I think a having a personal relationship with God is the ultimate. Though am trying to study more of the scripture.

Thank you. With time i will understand how to put the answers better.

I am so glad to see a new "face" participating. Your answers are just fine, we all learn from each other's perspectives. To be in a personal relationship with God is the most precious and live-giving gift. If you have only the knowledge without the relationship, it is not worth much. God bless you!

Heaven acknowledges the work of grace you do here. Great reward Dear sister.

All glory and honor and praise to God in the highest!

How will i relate to God if he is a force? The bible says, the name of the Lord is a strong tower, and the righteous that run to it are saved, bearing this in mind, i know that i have a refuge i can always run to. As a principle, i know his words never change, for he is not a man that should lie or a son of man that should repent, so i can always believe in him.
Thank you for sharing this with us, i have learnt, and im still learning from you. Hope to see your post again soon. Stay blessed

Dear @mistakili. Thank you for participating in the studies, I am really grateful for each and every one that does the study. I will continue this studies for a very long time. Our God is so BIG it takes a long time to just learn a "little" bit of God. Then we have the knowledge, the knowledge without a personal relationship with Him is worthless.

I relate to the Lord as a friend

Thank you for commenting @nathansackey. Yes, Jesus Christ is our Friend, our Savior, our High Priest in heaven!

Thank you ma for this detailed teaching am really blessed.
How I will relate with God if he is a force or principle. Personally since force is something you can not resist, I will loss myself to his instructions (force) to the direction he wishes. Likewise his principles. But God is not an impersonal force as we have learnt, as he has presented us life and death and also urges us to choose life. How sweet he is..

Amen to that! In total agreement with your answer!

I just did a study on the Humanist Manifesto I and III today, which deny the reality of God. It's heartbreaking that people don't experience a relationship with God, and then try to persuade others that there is no God. Once we truly experience God, we can never in our hearts deny He is real. I'm really excited about your upcoming study on the names of God!

Yes, I agree with you @poimenpost, that is heartbreaking. We can have all the knowledge of God even, without having a relationship with Him. But to really know Him, experience Him as you said that is above anything else this world and its worldly pleasures have to offer.

In my estimation, there had to be a force within the universe — and extant everywhere — working against the otherwise impending march of entropy. That ordering force in the universe is what I might call God.
P.S
I'm an engineer

Dear @addempsea, God is not a force, He is a personal God. In whatever He created in the universe, He did so as God and not as a force. We are made in His image, therefore we can relate to Him. We can be in a relationship with Him. We cannot be in a relationship with a "force" I am very grateful that you followed this studies, as you will come to learn more and more about God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. God bless!

It is so important to remember that in our study of God there are two important things that we should seek to know. First, we need information, revealed facts about God. We need knowledge of who God is, how He exists, or about what God is like. But second, we desperately need to go beyond just the facts about God. We need to know God personally and intimately. The facts are the foundation, but the goal is fellowship with God as we learn about His person, plan, purposes, principles, and promises.

This answer of yours is precious. Will you allow me to use it in the Biblestudies? I will give credit to you.

Oh! I'm happy you like it.. Yes you can use it ma'am

The personality of God is His supremacy....Thanks Ma.

Thank you for commenting @anjiba!

Thanks for presenting this post in the TCCNS show. It was mentioned in the report writing.
https://steemit.com/flaminghelpers/@seyiodus/tuesday-christian-curation-night-show-tccns-2-report-writing

Thank you @seyiodus, it was another great curation night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98