You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit.com UI Changes to Flagging - Pull Request Submitted

in #flagging8 years ago

I find it to be a very futile exercise to discuss reasons for downvoting within a trust-less decentralized system. The UI changes that you are talking about change almost nothing. People read from left to right and having a tiny grayed out flag to the right does not make the post stand out as bad, hate speech or whatever. My goal is the success of STEEM and I will downvote anything that's near the top that I believe is not interesting to most people.
I will downvote :

  • Orginal pictures that are of not so good quality or that is of very subjective taste.

  • Picture of food. (with steem logo next to it)

*STEEM circle-jerking, including speculation on the price and people showcasing blatant Steem logo.

  • Miles long wall of text that fail to get to the point in the first page and that boast giant catchy picture that have little to do with the actual content.
    (Newsflash : The way the Steem reward curve currently work, very large post about subject that are not related to current events like psycology, phylosophy and the meaning of life will not thrive - EVER.

Until Steemit or another platform find a effective way to sort things by subject I will be downvoting fringe stuff that find their way to the top.

When I downvote something it's not taking away money from the platform it's only giving a bigger incentive for people at the bottom to improve their content. If I downvote something that's already highly voted it incurs me a cost by taking away my opportunity at getting some curation reward.

Sort:  

And you are free to do so. As I described in this post, everyone is free to use their votes as they wish. It sounds like you are using yours to advance the platform in the way you see is best - so I see no issue with it.

The UI changes are mainly intended to change the perception of getting flagged. In theory, nothing about these changes should have any impact on whatever reasons people flag for.

Thanks for taking the time to address those issues. It seems to me that the most obvious solution is to bring back the downvote button. Either way I believe this shold not a priority. Thanks taking the time to look into this.

Welcome. There was some discussion about changing the vote slider to go both ways (positive and negative). It was not considered a 'high priority' feature though, so it probably won't be implemented anytime soon.

So I guess this is why you just flagged my post, because my photos aren't of high enough quality?

I did explain in my post why that is, my children are Autistic and don't understand to hold still and pose - they are constantly running jumping and flapping, making it virtually impossible to get quality photos of them.

I'm just a bit disappointed, because these are the best quality pictures I can get of my children and I even complained about this fact in the post.

Sorry to write this on here but this was the most relevant place I could find to try and address this and ask why?

Or to see if you actually read the post and understand my explanation of why some of the photos are of such blurry quality - and still felt the need to flag it anyway?

Did not read and am not interested in looking at pictures of random kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30